2 Trash-to-Treasure projects for Earth Day!

Nothing makes me feel quite as virtuous as using something that I would normally just throw away. I have two projects today that use supplies that nay normal person would have thrown away (but I think we all know by now that I’m not normal 🙂  )

The above layout uses several throwaway items, the backing paper was my table protector for when I used spray mists, I love the colors of all the over-spray and couldn’t bear to toss it to I trimmed off my favorite area and used it as the base of this page. The circles were cut from the boxed my letterpress plate came in:

 

It is much like, if not the same is, grunge board. I inked up my plate with a pigment ink pad (I DO NOT like the letterpress ink at all.) and debossed the design on the cardboard before cutting it out. I have been collecting the letterpress plates for a while when I’ve seen them here and there on clearance and I think I have all most all of the sets made by Lifestyle Crafts. I think it is a shame that they don’t seem to be making them anymore, I’m glad that I can make my own plates now with my Stampmaker…more on that in another post. I did not like the packaging the plates came in, it was bulky and hard to get them in and out so I used an inexpensive binder and clear page protectors to store them so I can quickly access them and see what I have. I love this system, it is the same way I store my stamps. I snagged some of the new Martha Stewart divided page protectors from Staples (with my ink cartridge rewards of course) and they are the best, I like the ones that are split in half because they are very useful in storing stamps and these kits and they have flaps so your stuff does not fall out AND they cost the same and the generic page protectors, go Martha!

 

OK for my next trick…ha ha, my friend ask me if I had any ideas on how to make a pinata for her son’s Super Mario Bros party. immediately I thought of the mushroom guy:

 

How fun is that! I just cut the mushroom  shape twice from a cardboard box, then I cut 4″ wide strips from the rest of the box. Tip, cut the strips across the corrugations so the strips ill shape and bend easily. then I used plain masking tape to tape the strips to the mushroom shape at a 90 degree angle and then I taped the other mushroom shape on top. You need to leave a section untaped so you can get the candy in. Then wrap it with crape paper glueing as you go (I like hot glue) and I cut paper circles and ovals to decorate it! Easy and it cost nothing because I hade the crepe paper left over from another project.

 

It kinda makes you look at your trash in a new way huh? Happy Earth Day and til next time Happy Crafting!

4 thoughts on “2 Trash-to-Treasure projects for Earth Day!

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.