Frugal Fun With Easter Egg Dye!

Yesterday morning (as we were waiting for the school bus) my kids asked if we could dye eggs afterschool. “Sure!” I said. I boiled the eggs that morning so I wouldn’t forget and then and idea hit me as I was staring at the $1 store egg coloring kit I bought…hmmm, I thought, I wonder If I could used this to make some perfectly matching scrapbook paper and embellishments for my egg-dying photos? Well, I had to try it. How did I do?

 

I think it worked marvellously! And I’m gonna tell you what I did! First you need to gather your supplies: An egg dying kit (I bought this one with the 5 baskets for $1 at the Dollar Tree, I am saving the bowls for next year or until the next crafty dye project strikes!), White cardstock, paintbrushes, a ceramic plate (to mix colors on) and a colorless blender colored pencil (I use prismacolor but you can use a white crayon or white colored pencil of another brand if you don’t have a PC one) and a digital image printed on white cardstock (I used the eggs and chick from my Cute Easter digistamp set from Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff)

 

To prevent the ink from smudging when I painted the digistamp image I traced over the lines with a clear colored pencil (yep, just like we used to use white crayons on our eggs before we dyed them-it’s called a resist.) To mix the dye place one tablet in each bowl and add 1/4 cup of water, it will be stronger than the solution you use to dye the eggs but you can add more water later.

 

Use a round brush to paint in your design. I made a swatch of colors on the corner of my image to test them…I really like these colors and I’m thinking SPRAY INK! But that will have to wait until after Easter and I grab some more of these on clearance LOL! You can mix the colors on the plate if you want a different color.

 

Now this will match your photos perfectly!

 

While we are at it let’s make some paper! Use a wide brush to paint a rainbow stripe on the paper then splatter on some color for good measure.

In case you are wondering I am working on my kitchen table. I cut a large world map to fit my table-top then went to Jo-Ann and bought some clear vinyl to go over it so clean up is a breeze! (And my kids will always know where Zimbabwe is LOL!)

 

After you are done painting you can prepare the dye for egg-dying by adding a tablespoon of vinegar and 1/4 cup of water to each bucket…now you can let the kids have some fun 😀

After the kids were done dying eggs I laid out large sheets of paper and let them paint with the leftover dye, they had a blast! And best of all no waste!

Happy Easter and til next time happy crafting!