Get Out Your Watercolors!

Let’s Paint! I love watercolors, the splashy vibrant color and the immediacy of creation is what hooks me every time. Unlike oils or acrylics they are always ready to go when I am! This painting is done in watercolor but I applied the paint in different ways: painting, spraying, stenciling and spattering. I love the texture and interest these different methods give the piece.

Cyclamen Watercolor Painting Copyright 2012 Lindsay Weirich

I really believe that anyone can paint, you just need to give it a go! If you don’t think you can draw well enough you can print out a digital stamp (there are lots of great ones that would be perfect for watercoloring in my Fancy Flowers set) and transfer it to your painting surface with graphite paper. I almost always draw it on a scrap first and then trace it so I know I have the drawing again if I mess up or if I want the pattern to use in a class. I mixed watercolor in a spray bottle with water to use with my stencils and I also sponged on some thicker watercolor. Normally I do not use white watercolor but in this case I did to mimic the velvety soft petals in the flowers and for the polka-dot stencil. As a final touch I added some stamping. No rules, just paint! Just remember, it’s only a piece of paper!

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!