Roller Derby & Wedding Favors!

Hello friends! Last night I took my family to watch a bout of roller derby. I really wanted my kids to see strong female athletes giving their all on the track. The girls of Bangor Roller Derby did not disappoint and they won the match against the Poison Pixies of Dover New Hampshire! It was so much fun to watch and cheer for the home team. Even my son thought it was cool and I really wanted my girls to see that there are other “female” sports other than softball and cheer-leading to be involved in.  Don’t get me wrong, I love that my girls play softball and I have nothing against cheering, my girls have done that as well but roller derby is freaking cool, I wish it was around when I was in my twenties!

OK I know you visit my blog for the crafty goodness and not the sports report so today I am going to share the latest addition to my shop. It is a set of SVG die cutting templates to make boxes and paper bows! Don’t worry there are printable PDF versions too. 😉

DCF 1.0

You get a tall box sized to fit 12″x12″ paper, a shorter box sized to fit 8.5″x11″ paper and 2 bows plus labels for the boxes.  6 SVG cutting files in all. When re-sizing in your software be sure to check the “keep proportions” box so the box does not get skewed. The printables are arranged on two 8.5″x11″ sheets. The box can be made larger by cutting the template in half on the alteration line and taping a piece of paper between the two halves. You can make it taller to fit your needs. These boxes would be cute as party favors, wedding table decorations or gift boxes, you can find the kit here.

Puff Box & Paper Bows SVG

Oh and speaking of roller derby, or skating in general you might like this skate card template set as well:

Skate Card SVG

another cool thing about derby is that they skate on quad (old fashioned) low top skakes, i used to work at a roller rink and I still wear my low top speed skates whenever I take the kids out to skate. My kids like the “blades” but hopefully they see the coolness of their mom’s ways…well, maybe not. I hope you are having a great weekend! Til next time happy crafting!

4 thoughts on “Roller Derby & Wedding Favors!

  1. I love roller derby. There are a few teams here in Western Mass and I brought my boy to a match a couple years ago. Those women are FIERCE! I think we had almost as good a time reading the program- the names of the skaters and the teams are hilarious.

    Like

  2. Both of my daughters play in roller derby teams here in the UK. It’s really brilliant to watch. It’s like St Trinians meets roller skating!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.