Money/Gift Card Holders

I was wandering through the isles of my local dollar store when I spied a pack of 8 money/gift card holders with envelopes. I loved the colors and the Asian feel and I knew that they would go perfect with the Asian themed stamps from About Art Accents that I had just received in the mail. I bought a pack, took them strait home and got to work! This is what I made:

Money holder: Dollar Tree, Stamp: About Art Accents, Ink: Stampin Up, Emb. Powder: Jo Anns, Markers: LePlume, Whispers, Tombow
Money holder: Dollar Tree, Stamp: About Art Accents, Ink: Stampin Up, Emb. Powder: Jo Anns, Markers: LePlume, Whispers, Tombow
Stamps: About Art Accents
Stamps: About Art Accents

The nice thing about eastern themed art is that you can keep it simple! The card base was already made so all I had to do was stamp and embellish (the fun part!) I stamped the image on pearl cardstock and heat embossed  in burgundy then I colored it with Tombow, Le Plume and sugarloaf water-based markers. The coating on the cardstock allowed me to blend, happy accident! I stamped the stamp again on a scrap and colored the flowers, cut out and adhered with foam tape. I matted the panel on gold paper and adhered a coin with foam tape. I tied gold cord around the fold and strung on 3 inexpensive beads. I wanted to make a tassel from the gold but when it was done it was too gaudy for the small card, I was also hoping to find a good fortune to glue to the card, I even had 3 fortune cookies leftover from takeout the other night but all of the fortunes were lame so I left that off too! There is no such thing as the perfect project, just make it, have fun and improvise, trust me the person who get this with some cash inside won’t complain 🙂

Here are the blank money holders, pretty cool huh and only a buck!
Here are the blank money holders, pretty cool huh and only a buck!

The pearl cardstock is by Gartner, Another dollar store find, it was actually a pack of 50 ink jet printable cards that I used one year to make x-mas cards and I had some left over because I bought 3 boxes! I bought the money holders at the Dollar Tree this weekend and it is a chain so maybe you can find them where you live, stamps are by About Art Accents.

Thanks for stopping by and until next time happy crafting!