Grab those watercolor markers!

“Copic, Copic, Copic!” Remember the episode of the Brady Bunch when the left out Jan whined “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia!”? Well, All I seem to hear about these days in the stamp coloring world is Copics,  they give beautiful results but I think we need to show our brush-tip watercolor markers some love too! Dust them off and try this fun technique!

Atamp: About Art Accents, Cardstock: Stampin up, PP: My Minds Eye

Atamp: About Art Accents, Cardstock: Stampin up, PP: My Minds Eye, tool: Scor-Pal

To get the multi colored image just find a solid Image stamp, this one is from the Anita Louise Musette 3 Silhouettes Plate from About Art Accents, and some water-based markers. I’m using, Le Plume, Stampin Up, Whispers and Tombow. If you don’t have any of those raid your kid’s art box for some Mr. Sketchies or Crayola. They may tend to bead up more than the grown up markers but often they work just as well 🙂 Also this works WAY better on Rubber stamps then clear since the marker ink will tend to bead up on the clear stamps, esp. the cheap ones.

select the stamp and markers you want to use

select the stamp and markers you want to use

Use your markers to color the rubber. I uses light tan on the face, blue on the clothes, brown for the hair and flower pot and green and pinks for the grass and flowers. Before you color put all of the markers on the table that you want to use and pick a few that look nice together. After it is colored breathe on the rubber to  moisten the ink and stamp!

color the rubber with the markers

color the rubber with the markers

Left Image: Rock and Roll, Right Image: Marker Colored and Stamped

Left Image: Rock and Roll, Right Image: Marker Colored and Stamped

I wasn’t sure how I would like this image colored so while I still had the stamp out I inked it up with aqua and rocked the edges in turquoise (rock and roll technique) and I love that look too! The wonderful think about silhouette style stamps is how quickly you can have a finished image! You can spend an hour coloring a line drawing (I enjoy that from time to time) but with this you are done in seconds and look how cute!

Stamp: AAA, Cardstock: SU, PP: MME, Flowers: Dollar Tree

Stamp: AAA, Cardstock: SU, PP: MME, Flowers: Dollar Tree

Thanks for stopping by and have a great Sunday and as always happy crafting!

