WOYWW: Random Painting & Projects

Howdy folks and happy Wednesday! You (hopefully by now) know what it is time for…What’s on Your Workdesk Wednesday! I have had a plethora of projects on my desk this week…well, just have a look:

I have been painting! I am happy with the bird and lily painting but the one at the bottom of my desk is an epic fail…it was looking a bit too stark so I decided to use some spray mist and stencils however I was too impatient to wait for the paint to dry and ended up with a big ugly blob which I dumped some glimmer eye-shadow on and then smooshed some plastic wrap into the puddle. It’s like I ran out of bullets and I threw the gun. I thought about pitching this in the trash before I took the picture but I didn’t want anyone to think I never make mistakes…OK you can STOP laughing now…really. Stop. Oh, shameless plug, I have a couple new watercolor painting kits at Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff this week!

On the other side of my mayhem I have some cleaner crafts. Some fun candy-colored plastic beads that my daughters sorted for me and some cute tags I made so I can price some of my loose necklaces and bracelets I have made for the craft fair (because I was a doof and forgot to buy the stick-on ones!)

But luckily I have a tiny tag punch (splurge from a stampin-up party last summer) and my new yummy baker’s twine from Papermart and I made my own! I think my jewelry might just sell due to the cute tags! Quick tip: This tag punch does not have a hole in it so make sure to punch 1/8″ holes first and then punch the tag upside-down so you can center the hole in the circle because you will not be able to punch the hole after you punch the tag, it will get stuck in your punch!

Well, there you have it! I do have herbal tea (instead of coffee) on my desk as I am trying to be healthier, I even took a spin on the treadmill today (highly unpleasant but being able to watch Torchwood on my kindle made it tolerable) so, yeah, woo…go health. That’s sarcasm by the way 🙂 Oh, here are the two paintings I didn’t mess up…

I am going to mat them and sell them as well at the craft fair…boy don’t I sound optimistic!

You can check out more crafty desks on Julia’s blog, the home of WOYWW. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

17 thoughts on “WOYWW: Random Painting & Projects

  1. Wow Lindsay, your talent never ceases to amaze me. Your paintings are just beautiful! Not only acutely observed, but your backgrounds put them in a league of their own. As for the one you think you ruined, I’ve learnt never to throw anything away, because it can be salvaged as a background with the addition of – who knows what? Also, if it is a painting, you will have done it on decent paper, which should never end up in the bin! I rescued a whole lot of beautiful watercolour paper out of my hubby’s bin, paintings he thought had gone wrong, and I’m using the backs of some, and the fronts of others can be painted over.

    Your tags and your new twine are fabulous. What a super idea to make your own artsy price tags! Beats the purchased ones hands down.

    Happy WOYWW,
    Shoshi #81

    Like

  2. Gorgeous gorgeous painting! Except for, you know, the splatter…. that made me giggle throwing the gun…. good luck at the craft fair too. Chloe x I’m not WOYWWing today, just visiting 🙂

    Like

  3. OK, I think I laughed my way through your post today, I will use that “used up the bullets and threw the gun” analogy the next time I find myself in that same situation, lol and woo, go health full of scarcasm will be my new motto for the year to come! HA! waving hi from the hills of North Carolina 🙂

    Like

  4. Your water colors are great. For a craft show you might do well to make your watercolors into cards, like Joe Miller does…his are awesome…he gives the details at this link:

    A card and a gift–all in one. I’d be more inclined to buy a card that was also ‘art’. And the size is nice, no need to worry if it will go with a person’s decor….it can be tucked away somewhere…sweet little bit of eye candy.

    I always look forward to reading your blog daily. Thanks for sharing all that you do. You are talented, generous and a ‘hoot’ to boot.

    Like

  5. BTW—there is a part 2 for Joe Miller’s video showing how he makes his whiskey paintings into cards….here’s the link:

    Sure wish I could do watercolors like you and Joe.

    Like

  6. Thanks for your visit, Lindsay – glad you like what I’m up to! I haven’t done any more on Inkscape today but have been busy doing more to my album, and I’ve just uploaded another post. I am so thrilled with this project! Something new for me, and I’ve been wanting to do it for ages.

    Happy WOYWW,
    Shoshi #82

    Like

  7. sorry I didn’t stop laughing when you said… very funny. sometimes yuou just have to accept it goes wrong don’t you !the bird turned out really well though didn’t it ?
    janet #26

    Like

  8. I think we must share the same sense of humour! Epic fail indeed – it happens in sewing with me. I know that what I’m making is turning into a road traffic accident but somehow I feel compelled to add to the misery before throwing the final mess into the scraps bag (which I use for stuffing doorstops etc etc!)
    And can I be in your cheerleading group, pretty please,
    Gimme an H..E..A..L..T..H…. woop woop….
    *grin*
    LLJ #32 xx

    Like

  9. Hullo there Lindsay as usual you are going ninety miles an hour and tire me out just inthe reading have that punch and know what you mean – love the crafty painting. 😀 Thanks so much for popping over and thanks for sharing ~ happy WOYWW! Shaz in Oz. x #1

    Like

  10. Hi Lindsay,

    Your paintings are just beautiful! I am sure you’ll sell them — and those tags! How dang cute! Good luck with the craft fair.

    The GB lunch bag was part of some blog candy that I won. I absolutely love it! I can stick so much crafty goodness into it.

    I’m slowly getting around to desks…. finally!

    Hugs,
    kay

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.