tutorial: How to Cut a Wine Bottle (It’s AWESOME!)

OK, tell me you haven’t dreamed of the day you could turn all of those fancy wine bottles into vases, glasses and other home decor projects.

 

I remember seeing Carol Duval (I think) cut a bottle on TV years ago and ever since I wanted a glass bottle cutter. Well, last Christmas my husband bought me one. I couldn’t wait to try it out…an hour and a sink full of glass shards later I was frustrated and disappointed and the poor little glass cutter was on its way to cabinet where I put all the other gadgets I had to have but couldn’t figure out how to use, move over Ron Popiel Pasta Maker, you have company.

I did not completely give up hope though, I was watching a science video on you tube and a guy had the same G2 Glass Cutter that I had but instead of doing what the directions said (holding it upright and spinning the cutter) he laid the cutter on the table and spun the bottle, brilliant! Way less awkward! I was so excited after this worked that I made a quick video to show you all the steps in cutting a wine bottle, have a look:

OK, so you might have noticed that I changed my hair color, I was in such a glass cutting frenzy yesterday that I did not “fix” it so here is a photo of my new red hair:

 

Just like a deciduous tree I like to change my colors in the fall!

I can’t wait to play with some more bottles! I have friends saving me wine bottles now! I have a feeling I will be choosing my wine by the color of the bottle more than the contents for a while! Now…if I could only figure out how to use that pasta maker… Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

PS the G2 Glass cutter I used in the video can be purchased on Amazon for $20 😀