By Request: Crock-Pot Candle Tutorial!

Going out by request…whoa, I just had a flashback from when I used to be a radio DJ… 🙂 But seriously, I had a couple of requests for a video on how I make candles with my crock-pot. Here is an example, I still need to pretty these up a bit but you get the idea:

I used printable wine labels from my new Vintage Wine Bottle Digistamp kit from Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff. I can customize the labels by stamping names on them. I plan to do just that at the craft fair so people can get custom bottles!  Here is a candle and birthday card I made for my friend Glenna, the outside of the card says “This card isn’t late…” and the inside says “…it’s aged to perfection!” Oh yes, clever belated birthday cards are my specialty LOL!

So, here’s what you’ve been waiting for, another fabulous video…just kidding, as usual a mediocre one ha ha…

Tips and (Cheap) Tricks for candle making:

  • To remove the label from the bottle try heating it with your heat gun, it might peel right off and save you the soaking like the cupcake label did for me, you can reuse it later too!
  • Buy wax in bulk from an online supplier, way cheaper than getting it from the craft store, be prepared to pay shipping though.
  • To cheaply color candles use crayons! I save my kids broken ones, peel off the wrappers and add them to my melted wax until I get the color I want.
  • To cheaply scent candles use the wax melts from the craft store. Sometimes ACmoore had them 2/$1.
  • Any heat safe vessel can be used to make candles: Jam jars, tins, coffee mugs, teacups etc. Just make sure the vessel is sturdy. I would not use a wine glass because it might tip over for instance.
  • If you plan to make lots of candles consider buying wicking by the roll. You can make hundreds of candles form a $15 roll of wicking.
  • You can find crock-pots cheap at yard sales and use them for wax only.

If you have any questions just leave a comment. I’ll get right back to you 😀 Think of all the awesome candles you can make for gifts and home decor! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!