Grungy Backgrounds with “Blends” and Embossing Powders!

Hi Friends! Today I am playing with a product that a viewer requested a demo of: ColorBox Blends. ColorBox provided me with these four colors to try out. You can follow along with an ink pad and blending tool if you do not have these. Blends are basically an ink filled blending tool with a sponge tip applicator that claims to have 10x the ink of an ink pad. Watch the video to see my first impressions of this product and the backgrounds I came up with.

Video! (Email subscribers will need to click though to see the video)

So, what do you think? They retail for $5.49 each but online retails have them for different price points and some viewers reported that they saw them on clearance for $3 at Hobby Lobby stores. My thought is that they are fun and would be good for people who do a lot of DTP (direct to paper) backgrounds or people demonstrating at stamp shows but for the average stamper a cat’s eye pad or blending tool and ink pad would probably do the trick and be more versatile. BTW the bubble background stamp was from Lost Coast Designs. I think the brown and black would be handy for scrappers who like to ink edges so they don’t have to deal with an ink pad and potentially inky fingers. I am a bit worried that two of my Blends had nozzles poking out and two did not and I am not sure how they are supposed to be or if I did something wrong to them, there were not many directions on the package. I like the concept though.  Let me know what you think in the comments. You can see the full range of blends on the ColorBox website. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!