Grungy Backgrounds with “Blends” and Embossing Powders!

Hi Friends! Today I am playing with a product that a viewer requested a demo of: ColorBox Blends. ColorBox provided me with these four colors to try out. You can follow along with an ink pad and blending tool if you do not have these. Blends are basically an ink filled blending tool with a sponge tip applicator that claims to have 10x the ink of an ink pad. Watch the video to see my first impressions of this product and the backgrounds I came up with.

Video! (Email subscribers will need to click though to see the video)

So, what do you think? They retail for $5.49 each but online retails have them for different price points and some viewers reported that they saw them on clearance for $3 at Hobby Lobby stores. My thought is that they are fun and would be good for people who do a lot of DTP (direct to paper) backgrounds or people demonstrating at stamp shows but for the average stamper a cat’s eye pad or blending tool and ink pad would probably do the trick and be more versatile. BTW the bubble background stamp was from Lost Coast Designs. I think the brown and black would be handy for scrappers who like to ink edges so they don’t have to deal with an ink pad and potentially inky fingers. I am a bit worried that two of my Blends had nozzles poking out and two did not and I am not sure how they are supposed to be or if I did something wrong to them, there were not many directions on the package. I like the concept though.  Let me know what you think in the comments. You can see the full range of blends on the ColorBox website. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

17 Responses

  1. I think they would be good for inking the edges of the paper, but I don’t know I would buy them only for that use. Thanks for getting inky for us!! Have a good weekend!

    Like

  2. Hi Lindsay, thanks for doing this demo for us. Before I seen this video, I have never even heard of blends. But after watching this (when you first posted it on youtube) I went ahead and ordered a brown and a black, that way if I didnt really like them, at least I could still use them for edges and stuff. On both of mine, the tip was poking out a bit. It wasnt flush with the surface of the foam pad, and it wasn’t all the way in, I guess it was about halfway in the foam. I used a plastic plate to prime mine, and it took about 3 to 5 minutes to get the ink going good and the surface of the foam covered. I think they are kind of fun to use for certain things, but definitely not something that I cant live without. I will not be ordering any more of the colors though, I think black and brown is plenty. And like you, I found it kind of hard to ink up a stamp with them unless you actually rub it on the stamp instead of just tapping it. The impression was decent, but not as great as a regular ink pad.

    Final thoughts: Do I recommend them? No, not really. You could get a few cats eye pads or a cats eye with a matching reinker for the same price. If you just want something different to play around with, or for the purpose of easy edge inking, they are good. But for a versatile ink pad? Get a regular one and a blender. (Also, direct to paper edge inking, it makes it more of a solid, dark, sharp color edge, and not the soft faded edge you get from a blender)

    Just thought I’d add my 2 cents on this in case anyone wanted another testers opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not thrilled, to much priming, seems like a lot of work just to get the ink out. Thank-you for showing us how they work, love your videos!!

    Like

  4. These have not impressed me very much! I can make do with my regular pads and blenders or sponge daubers and get more for my money. I think these will probably fade away quite quickly from the reviews I have seen. Thanks for sharing them with us!

    Like

  5. sorry, not impressed with this product….would probably choose my ink pads with a finger dauber instead. Thanks for the video…saves me from buying them!!!
    Jan

    Like

  6. Found these in the clearance section at Hobby Lobby they must not have been a good seller either. i did pick up a couple to try out for inking the edges of my cards.

    Like

  7. I think you are right about the foam breaking down with use for edging. Those seem less dense than the foam pads made for Ranger ink blending, and that even breaks down fairly quickly. I don’t think this will be a product I will use.

    Like

  8. Thank you for the review. I had not heard these before, but based on the couple of comments and your review, I wouldn’t run out and buy a bunch…. seems like a good idea, but needs some refining… love the look thought… perfect masculine background! Have a good weekend.

    Like

  9. I really appreciate your testing these things for us! If we decide to pass on some items, the manufacturers can learn from your feedback and make a better product. I have learned so much from your demonstrations and I like to pass these ideas along to my other crafting friends. I hope spring will come to your area soon. It is lovely here in Virginia today

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thanks for the demo. In it’s present form, it certainly is not as user friendly ink. Easier to clean your fingers after using the regular ink pad.

    Like

  11. Looks too time consuming & extra effort needed. Your creations are beautiful though.

    Like

  12. Liked the idea. Your backgrounds looked great. The Embossing powders made the colors stand out more.
    How about demoing the MISTY from The Sweet Petunia site? It seems to be the “in-thing” now.
    Thanks for all your videos. Love the Ask A Stamper videos.

    Like

  13. That was fun to watch, and I think they might be good for a travel pack to take somewhere since messy me wouldn’t have such a big surface if the lid came off. I wouldn’t probably get the whole set of colors though.

    Like

  14. They look very nice, I have not seen them up here in TO yet but hopefully they will come soon.

    Like

  15. I just this on clearance at Hobby Lobby as well. Hmmmm…never heard of them till your video. You are so good at keeping us informed. Thanks. Keep doing what you do!!!!!

    Like

  16. I purchased one for $2.99 at Hobby Lobby last week and finally had a chance to play today. NOT IMPRESSED. Still trying to get it primed to begin with. I will stick to my catseyes and dew drops and even my 1 inch minis for now on.

    Like

  17. Hi Lindsay, Thank you SO much for your WONDERFUL detailed review of this product that I requested! I am sorry for writing this so late – Easter & vacation came, then etc…
    Seeing you use the Blends applicator helped me think about things that I would have no clue about otherwise (i.e. how should nozzle work inside foam). I am glad that you thought to use them on embossed paper because that is something I use, also for pointing out that the slow-drying ink is for blending purposes. I like the colors. The idea is clever and I think I might try out a couple too (on sale).
    I am so impressed with your energy and how you inspire others to get creative! Thank you!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

