A Keepsake Book…

Hi friends! Today I am going to show you how to make a woven album cover so you can turn any store-bought book into a treasured keepsake. I think this would be great for a guest book at a wedding or baby shower. I am using ribbon from Offray in this project. Be sure to check out the supply list below. Watch the video for a full demonstration:

For this tutorial I am using 1 1/2″ wide single faced satin ribbon, it is available in an assortment of colors so pick your favorite!
I used Contessa Ribbon in color Buttercream
and Navajo turquoise Single Faced Satin

Other supplies:
2 sheets white cardstock
2 pattern papers (end papers)
Store bought album to cover
Dry adhesive (such as ATG tape) and hot glue

Directions:
1.Trim the white cardstock and pattern papers to the same size as your album’s cover.
2. Cut you first color of ribbon 4 inches longer than your album is long and attach them to the short edge or the cardstock.
3. Cut your second color ribbon 4 inches longer than your album is wide and attach it to the inside edge of the album cover.
4. Attach the cardstock with the ribbon attached to the back to the front of the cover so the ribbon is toward the edge with the spine.
5. weave the ribbons together.
Flip the book over and adhere the ribbon ends to the back of the cover. Glue end papers (the scrapbook paper) over the messy ribbon ends.
6. Embellish as desired.

That’s all there is to it! Thanks to Offray for sponsoring today’s blog post, thanks to you for reading and til next time happy crafting!

4 thoughts on “A Keepsake Book…

  1. Lindsay, I absolutely love this idea. Can’t wait to get started. I have several books and journals that I want to work with. Again thanks so much for the inspiration. I am oh so hype right now. Good thing it’s daytime and Hobby Lobby is open.

    Pamela J.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.