Chip Art on the Cheap!

A few months ago I saw some little metal stamps advertised in the Oriental Trading scrapbook catalog designed to use on chipboard so you have a debossed letter or design. Cool huh? Well, I thought it was neat until I saw the price, $50 an alphabet set!  Then I remembered that I have a leather stamping alphabet set that I bought for $12 at the craft store a few years ago. I decided to see if that would work. While I was experimenting my daughter came along and asked if she could try. She made this brooch for her sister:

 

Here is what you need: A hammer or mallet, chipboard, a spray bottle of ink or water, a metal stamp set such as the leather stamping set and a hard surface like a cutting board. Optional: Metallic rub ons or chalk.

 

Step 1: Spray the chipboard with water or ink and let it sink in a minute.

Step 2: Insert the metal stamp into the handle and situate it on the inked chipboard. Tap the end of the tool with he hammer 5 or 6 times. Repeat for each letter. Be sure to protect your work surface with a cutting board!

Step 3: Rub the metallic rub-on paste (or chalk) over the letters to highlight.

Step 4: Embellish as desired.

 

My other daughter loved receiving the brooch and wore it that night! Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not putting down the Chip Art Stamps by GSD studios, they have some really neat designs but if all you want are the basic letters you might have luck in the leather supply section at the craft store! Thanks for stopping by and till next time happy crafting!