WOYWW: A Native American Craft For Kids!

Happy Wednesday! Today I am working on a craft for my daughters’ 2 grade classes, they are studying Native Americans so I volunteered to do a craft with the kids, here is what I came up with:

 

You can see the stuff I used on my very messy desk. If you want to see other busy crafty desks be sure to check out the What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday challenge at the Stamping Ground blog. I’ve been doing the challenge for the past few weeks and it is great fun!

OK back to the craft. I went a- searchin’ online for ideas and I saw a tutorial for a basket here. The template looked just like my I-Top punch so I tried punching a shape from brown cardstock and making a basket with that but it was so small and I thought the kids might have a hard time so for the larger basket I cut a 3.5″ circle and cut “v” notches around it so I had 9 tabs to weave my twine in. I cut mine about 3/4″ in so there was plenty of room to weave. As for the canoe I pretty much followed the tutorial I found here using brown construction paper. Then I drybrushed some brown watercolor on and did some rubber stamping cuz that just the way I roll. 😀

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

