A Fortunate Valentine!

OK, I saw the CUTEST hybrid freebie the other day on Celeste Rockwood-Jones’ blog and I had to try it! So I downloaded her beautiful project and realized that I was out of magenta ink in my printer, how ironic to be out of pink ink the day before Valentines! But the idea was so cool I had to try it so I grabbed some pattern paper left over from valentines projects and went to work…

Take out box, coupon book, and cookies by Lindsay Weirich 2009
Take out box, coupon book, and cookies by Lindsay Weirich 2009

Of course you can’t have fortune cookies without a Chinese food take out box so I made one of these too. If you have SCAL software you can cut it with your Cricut Machine! It makes a good size box, I’d say between the size of a quart and a pint. I also made a cutting file for the text on the box to that reads ” I’m fortunate that you’re mine.”  The stamp I used on this project is by About Art Accents, paper is by Cosmo Cricut, K& Co and Die Cuts With a View.

Grab the circle word SVG label for free here.

The take out box template is from my Box Bonanza Kit from Lindsay’s Stamp stuff:

I think I will make the label file 12×12 and use it for a shaped scrapbook page as well!

***EDIT: If you don’t have a cricut you can get a Chinese food takeout box from a restaurant and use it as a template or there is a nice one (very similar) at Mirkwood Designs. She is awesome, bookmark her site because she has TONS of free templates!

"fortunate" word art by Lindsay Weirich 2009
"fortunate" word art by Lindsay Weirich 2009

I also made a coupon book for my honey (he is banned from reading my blog until after Valentine’s day BTW!) I use a dollar stamp from inkadinkado and stamped it on white cardstock and used a scrap of pattern paper to wrap around it matchbook style then secure the coupons to the cover with a brad. You can make the cupons for stuff like “take out dinner my treat” or “Movie night: Your choice”, or whatever else you can think of…

A matchbook style coupon booklet (cover)
A matchbook style coupon booklet (cover)
...but it's what's inside that counts!
...but it's what's inside that counts!

To make the box:

You will need to score it first. I made registration dots on the bottom of the box and notches on the sides to help with scoring but they will be hidden when it is folded. Of course I used my handy-dandy homemade scoring board to do this! Score each dot to the next to make a rectangle bottom, then score the dots to the closest notch, then score each dot to it’s closet flap like this:

This is the way we score the box...
This is the way we score the box...

After folding I secured the box with eyelets using my Crop-A-Dial Big Bite. Pick it up rather than trying to use it on the table, way easier! You could hot glue it too!

To make the cookies cut circles from pattern paper (I like the double sided paper but plain is good too, or you could stamp some cardstock, or just download the prepared project form Celeste’s blog and use that.) I used thick double sided paper so first I folded a 4 1/2″ circle in half (creasing only in the middle, you may not need to do this step if using thin paper) then I opened it up and folded it perpendicular (with the same pattern facing out) but did not crease, then pulled the points together. I secured the cookie with my paper tagger. Look, see:

That's one smart cookie!
That's one smart cookie!

Note: The paper tagger is very sharp, be careful or you will poke yourself, don’t ask me how I know…

fctagger

Then I wrote little love note and fortunes on white cardstock and trimmed them into strips and slipped them in the cookies, Pack the cookies and the coupons in the box and you are good to go!

Fill er' up!
Fill er' up!

Not bad for last minute huh?

fcset1

Have a great valentines day, and if you hate valentines day, well, at least you won’t have to see anymore valentines projects on my blog for another 11 months! Thanks for stopping by and until next time happy crafting!

19 thoughts on “A Fortunate Valentine!

    1. Honestly I just took a 2″x8.5″ scrap of cardstock and folded 4″ of the paper over then folded up the last .5″, i put 2″x4″ stamped scraps of paper inside and stapled it then tucked the cover under the stapled flap. Very easy:)

      Like

  1. I made this for valentines this year for my husband. He asked me to marry him with take out chinese food and my ring was in the fortune cookie. Can’t wait to give it to him, thanks so much!

    Like

  2. I think this is a great idea! Thanks so much for sharing this with us! I have a friend who is very into fortune cookies these days so I am putting this awesome idea to work- making her some for Christmas.

    Like

  3. Hi Lindsay-

    I tried to download the svg for the box, but its says that link is broken, can you send it to me..I like the size of the box and it looks like it will fit quite a few more fortune cookies, than the standard take out box.

    Thanks,
    Jacki

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.