DIY Satin Eye Mask! Beauty Sleep Anyone?

Hi friends! Nothing like a little luxury, am I right?

eyemaskthumb

Today I will show you how to make a lovely satin sleep mask using supplies from Papermart. They have an amazing closeout deal on high quality bolts of satin fabric (20 yards of 65″ wide for $30.64 OR less if you are ordering in bulk) With weddings and proms coming up it would be smart to stock up before they sell out. Satin is also nice for home decor.

eyemaskblog

I must admit I was a little nervous about sewing a formal fabric like satin but with a few tips and tricks it can be sewn with ease and a small project like this will help you learn the ropes.

Disclaimer: I do not wake up like this. Actually it’s best you do not apporach me until I have consumed at least 2 cups of coffee. My husband actually LOLed when he saw the video intro. All I need now is some bluebirds fluttering through the window to help me with the housework haha:)

Supplies:

  • Satin Fabric
  • Satin Ribbon (for bow)
  • Paper and pencil (for template)
  • Paper and fabric scissors
  • Silk pins (they are thinner than normal pins and do not rust)
  • Iron
  • Sewing machine and thread and/or hand sewing supplies
  • 1/4″ sewing elastic (17″ give or take)
  • Bonus Supply: Tassels if you want to make matching curtains and pillowcases

Directions:
1. Using scrap paper make a template for the eyemask.
2. Place two pieces of fabric right sides together and pin template to it, cut out. Unpin the template.
3. Lay elastic between the layers of fabric having one end flush with one edge and the other end hanging out. Pin the flush elastic to the fabric and secure the fabric layers with a few more pins.
4. Starting on one side of the long elastic, backstitch and sew 1/4 seam allowance around the mask (going over the flush elastic) but stop before you get to the long elastic, backstitch.
5. Turn the project right side out and press with a hot dry iron.
6. Insert the loose elastic into the hold in the side of the mask and stitch closed. Embellish with a bow made from ribbon if you like.

Tips for sewing satin:

  • Use a new, thin, sharp needle (I used a #11 universal)
  • Use a short stitch length (to prevent puckering)
  • Go slow when using the sewing machine to sew satin.
  • Hold the fabric taut while stitching
  • If you make making something that will need to be washed like a garment or pillowcases, prewash the fabric then press and cut your pattern out, and, before washing un sewn fabric serge or overlock stitch on the edges to prevent fraying.

So, are you ready to tackle that prom dress yet? I think these eye masks would be really fun favors for a spa party or in a bridesmaid gift basket, heck you could even use the matching leftover fabric from dresses. There are so many ideas for the satin and at this price you can experiment without worrying to much, it works out to $1.53 a yard, you can’t buy muslin for that nowadays so don’t be shy, give it a try! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Satin Eye Mask! Beauty Sleep Anyone?

  1. I always wear an eye mask and I must say even the simple ones cost too much, so I’m happy you’ve ‘shown me the way’ to one I can make myself. I’ve been thinking about figuring this out for a very long time but never get around to it. As usual, once again you’ve saved the day. Thanks!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.