Stamp Swap: Cheri Wenger Designs

Happy Saturday! This week I swapped stamps with Cheri Winger, a personal friend and new designers at MyGrafico! I Decided to use her new Elegant Name Plate set.

Here is one of the nameplates I recolored and printed on my computer and cut with my cricut, not perfect but we are getting there 🙂

The pretty butterfly is rubber from About Art Accents. I stamped him with Black Memento ink and colored him with my Copics.

Now, having the capabilities of a Cricut machine and the fabulous SCAL software I wondered if I could cut out the printed nameplates with my bug. Here is a card I made with one of the cricut cut nameplates, there is a bit of trial and error but it might be just the thing if you need to cut a lot of pre printed graphics. Here is how I did it:

Look at some of the beautiful designs in this kit! They were so easy to color, I simply used the paint bucket tool!

Notice the black squares in to corner of the files. They are registration marks. After you print the graphics you can line up the squares on the mat corresponding to the squares on the designs on-screen, it might seem strange but stay with me:)

here is a black and white copy of the colored file, save that at 72 dpi as a jpg file (save the original file incase you want to print more later) to convert in scal2 or inkscape.

So then I traced the image in Sure Cuts Alot 2 (SCAL2) and lined up my paper to match what I see on the screen. Be sure to check the keep proportions box checked during this process because it you change the aspect ratio at all the cut will be off. I cut mine with a shadow of 0.15 because of the intricate cuts.

It takes some trial and error, I think when you try this for the first time you should pick a simpler design but these designs are so pretty I couldn't help it!

I always put a bit of blue painters tape on my paper when I cut, it insures that my paper will not slip.

Now that you have seen what I did with Cheri’s Designs check Cheri’s blog and see what she cooked up with mine:) Be sure to check out all of her lovely work and leave some love too! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

4 thoughts on “Stamp Swap: Cheri Wenger Designs

  1. Lovely job. You must be smart or have more time on your hands than I do (or maybe you’ve got both – smarts and time – LOL). I’m still too intimidated to create my own cutting files with SCAL, much less take a printable image into SCAL and cut it out on my preprinted paper.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.