You’ve gotta know when to hold ’em…

…know when to fold ’em, know when to walk away, know when to run…I had this Kenny Rogers song playing in my heard the last few times I worked on my bright pink sweater, then I remembered that I HATE knitting sweaters. I started this sweater back in May thinking it would be lovely to wear while I watched my kids play soccer on those cold Saturday mornings.  Well folks, soccer season came and went and I was only about 1/8th of the way done. I had made a few mistakes (don’t ask me how, it is knit and pearl, not rocket science or even cabling)  and I DO NOT rip out stitches unless I catch a mistake right away, if I notice a mistake a row or two later I believe it is a little quirk that adds character.  Since I had spent so many hours on this piece of fabric already I decided I had to make something out of it so I turned it into a jaunty beret!

Doesn’t every girl need a jaunty cap? Basically I just started decreasing for a few rows, bound it off and gathered the top, stitched up the back and added a pom-pom. I had to take it in around the brim or I would look like “Mush Mouth” from Fat Albert…not the look I was aiming for. I need to take it in a bit more though because It wants to fall off a bit when I am out walking the dog. But you know, I think it is pretty darn cute!

So I learned a few things about myself during this project:

  1.  Large projects on small needles are not for me.
  2. I need to pay attention more, I tend to daydream if the stitches are too easy, and make mistakes.
  3. I am a lazy knitter. Knowing is half the battle LOL!

I hope you have a great Monday. I made 40 pairs of earrings and a couple of necklaces this weekend and I desperately need to package them and clean the studio! Wish me luck. thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

8 thoughts on “You’ve gotta know when to hold ’em…

  1. My sweater waits behind the sofa ready for me to finish it. It’s too far along to make into a hat…….so you are one lucky lady! Cute save.

    Like

  2. I can’t believe how crafty you are and still have time to care for a family! Love the hat and the color is perfect for you. You inspire me to do more, more, more! oh, did I say “MORE?” Hugs

    Like

  3. It’s adorable….so, my 252 vendor size craft fair was a flop. People just weren’t spending money, this was the consensus of most of the vendors. I just shot an email to the owner to see what her opinion of the day was…….we made up our rental fee and then a little…nothng to write home about, I am now sending out emails to these Church fairs, they seem to be making the most money and the booths are way cheaper.

    Like

    1. I hear you! I didn’t bother with the huge fairs that charge $75 a table, the one at my kids school is $25 a table so I am not out much if nothing sells and I get together with friends so we have a fun time! Lat year was my first and I sold $300 worth, I thought that was great since it was mostly $1-$5 items and it was the first year of the fair and it was not super busy. I am looking forward to this years and the things I am selling are the type of things I would be making for gifts anyway so I can still use them if they do not sell:) I will be ahead of the game either way:) Try a church fair, what do you have to lose?

      Like

  4. Gorgeous hat Lindsay, you did a beautiful job of it. Is it the hot pink hat, the lighting of your camera or my computer screen making me think your hair is red?

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.