Caardvarks challenge and a cute die from CC&M!

Good Monday morning to ya! My morning has been a bit weird as a strange dog followed me home when I took Hazel for her morning walk. The dog is so nice, an older yellow lab and he is currently camped out on my front porch (I will not let the dog inside, I will not let the dog inside…) Anyhow the totally funky-cool caardvark gals had a challenge to make a shaped card and since shaped cards are one of mt favorite things I made one for the challenge:

Die cuts: Creative Cuts and More, Stamps: The Rubber Cafe, Staples and Punch: EK Success, Ribbon: dollar Tree
Die cuts: Creative Cuts and More, Stamps: The Rubber Cafe, Staples and Punch: EK Success, Ribbon: dollar Tree

I use a the 11 1/2″ mini-scallop die from Creative Cuts and More (they are updating their website right now so if it isn’t right there it should be soon) and I cut it in half to make my card, an idea I ripped off from the talented Melissa who always has the cutest shaped cards on the block.

Here is a close up, I got the funky texture on the card by pressing wax paper over the shimmer spray and putting a book on top as it was drying.
Here is a close up, I got the funky texture on the card by pressing wax paper over the shimmer spray and putting a book on top as it was drying.

I embossed the flowery border stamp from The Rubber Cafe in light pink but it didn’t show up so I gave it a squirt of my red homemade shimmer spray to make it stand out. I punched out some flowers on the edge and glued the punch outs on the front of the card, BTW the card is made from Fairytale pink double mates cardstock do you can see the darker pink inside through the punch outs, it has a subtle texture to it but it stamps like a dream! Then I stamped and embossed a couple of Butterflies also from the rubber cafe and curled the wings a bit and adhered them with foam tape. I used my “hot glue pearls” for the center of the flowers and stapled on some ribbon. The little ribbon slide is from Creative Cuts too!

Thanks for stopping by and have a great Monday…the dog outside is howling…I’m still not letting him in even if he is sweet and cute…until next time happy crafting 😉

14 thoughts on “Caardvarks challenge and a cute die from CC&M!

    1. I left word at a local kennel discribing the dog and my name and phone and the owner called me about an hour ago and picked him up, he was a good dog too, he seemed quite happy to be found:) The owner was staying with his sister and she had let him out by mistake and he never found out how the collare went missing, I’m just glad I could help and the dog didn’t get hit or anything

      Like

  1. This is so pretty! Could you refresh my memory on the glue stick pearls – how did you get the pearly finish again? Thanks! I love all your homemade alternatives to the pricey products. 🙂

    Like

  2. oh *WOW*! this is just soooooooPRETTY! i love the shape, and the butterflies, and the sparkles, and the shimmeryness… (yes, that IS TOO a word!) …and well…EVERYTHING!!! ♥

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.