The Ultimate Card Showdown!!!

I couldn’t resist, I had to enter the 2 sketches 4 you ultimate card showdown (every time I hear that name I think of the monster truck show announcer “This Sunday, Sunday, SUNDAY it the Ultimate Card Showdown! Get your tickets, Kid’s seats are still $5!!!” what, is it only me?)  even though the competition is huge. The grand prize winner gets $500 worth of scrapping/stamping supplies including (what I am really in this for) a beautiful pink Bind it All!!! OK enough Jibber-Jabbering, here is my card:

Cardstock: SU!, PP: Autumn leaves, Basic Grey, Stamps: Hero Arts, Inkadinkado, Technique Tuesday, Rubber Stampede, Font: DB Boho Banner, Felt: Queen & Co, Other: Window screen, washers, ink
Cardstock: SU!, PP: Autumn leaves, Basic Grey, Stamps: Hero Arts, Inkadinkado, Technique Tuesday, Rubber Stampede, Font: DB Boho Banner, Felt: Queen & Co, Other: Window screen, washers, ink
Here in an uncluttered look at the card;)
Here in an uncluttered look at the card;)

The base is one sheet of SU! kraft paper folded in half. I score some decorative lines on the edge and inked it. I stamp the paisley and birthday definition on color gloss lazer paper. Tip: Gloss Lazer paper (from the office supply store, I used Hammermill color lazer gloss)  is great for detail stamping and a lot cheaper than glossy cardstock, you get 300 sheets for less then $10! then I sprinkled green, brown and gold powder on it to give it a patina look. I also stamped bolts down the side to up the “manly” factor and I “borrowed” some washers form hubby’s workshop and altered them with rust embossing powder. I added screw top eyelets to the flowers cut form map paper and the scallop boarder was cut from fiberglass window screening then painted brown and stapled on. I added a bit of die cut felt for texture and I made the transparency banner by printing a banner form the DB boho banner font onto a transparency and typed “happy birthday” on it before printing. Tip: I printed a whole sheet of banners while I was at it so I didn’t waste the transparency sheet, see:

DB boho banners font
DB boho banners font

Well, there you have it, I’ll let you know next week weather I made the top 30 or not;) Thanks for stopping by and till next time happy crafting!