Easy substitutions for healthier living;)

OK folks, I know this is not a health blog so if you just want to see a funny card and go on your way here you go:

DCF 1.0
Stamp: Sunday International, Quote: Rita Rudner

Wow, you are still here? Great! Many of you know that i am a vegetarian, vegan actually for 19 years. I don’t harp and preach to people because it is none of my business what you choose to eat, I just want people to feel good, enjoy life and be healthy. When I told you about my husbands health scale last month you showered me with support and kindness, my husband is doing well now and I thank you for all the thoughts, prayers and good vibes sent my way. May I repay the favor? Many of you told me of your health struggles and those of your family. I think that you can make small changes to your life that will last and make big impacts to your long term health. We all know that when we go on a diet or start some unrealistic workout regime (yes, I meant to say regime and not regimen because it feels like a regime doesn’t it?) we do great for a week or so then fall off the wagon and feel like a loser, go back to bad habits and end up worse then before, clearly this doesn’t work.  Let’s start with 3 food substitutions that will save you calories, lower cholesterol and make you healthier. Think of these substitutions like health investment. Put a little away every day and in no time you have a lot saved up with interest!

  1. Old Fashioned Oats instead of other junk for breafast: A half cup of cooked oatmeal has 5 grams of protein, 4 grams of fiber, 2.5 grams of fat and only 150 calories. Add milk (or soymilk) and some fresh fruit like bananas, blueberries or even applesauce for a filling yummy breakfast. You can even add a bit of brown sugar or other sweeter.  Feed this to your kids and spouse to start their day healthy too, you can gook old fashioned oats on the stove in 5 minutes, make a big pot, I really don’t think you can overdo it with this food…if so you will only do it once LOL! PS I am a fan of eating your largest meal in the morning so add in a *tofu scramble or  meat and eggs if you like.
  2. Use cooking spray instead of oil: If you are making pancakes, eggs, roasted veggies or *oven fries you can use cooking spray instead of vegetable oil or olive oil, I’m not saying that oil is bad but you can cut out a significant amount of fat and calories and no one should miss it.
  3. Recipe crumbles (Textured Vegetable Protein) in place of ground beef in recipes: Recipe crumbles are made from soybeans and they can replace meat in a recipe. You can buy them at a health food store in bulk dry and unflavored or you can get them in the freezer at the grocery store already to go. You will find them next to the veggie burgers. I recommend the Boca brand as they are vegan but if you don’t mind eggs in it you can try the Morningstar brand. I am not known for my cooking but my *vegetarian chili gets rave reviews and nobody believes there is no meat in it because I use the crumbles. I bag of frozen crumbles is about $3-$4 and will replace 1lb of browned ground beef. Try it is tacos, chili, hamburger helper type meals, chop suey, spaghetti sauce or any other recipe calling for hamburger. One serving of the Boca crumbles 13 grams protein, 3 grams fiber, 0 fat, 0 cholesterol and only 70 calories.

* recipes below

We all know that working out is boring and hard to stick to. However playing is fun. We did not need to be told to “go exercise” as kids, just playing was good enough. What activity do you enjoy? I love badminton, luckily my kids do to so I have a net set up in the backyard and we play a few matches a day. No. it is not as good as lifting weights but my barbels collect dust (or hold my tripod down during craft videos) but my rackets earn their keep! I also like to bike and roller-skate. Do you garden? Thoroughly clean your house? That counts too, just be active! Walk the dog, chase the chickens, swim with the kids (or just splash in the water, you are moving, isn’t it fun?!?)

OK, wait, maybe you want to do these things but you feel too out of shape or silly. It’s OK, let me give you a hug. 🙂 Put on your comfiest shoes head outside and start walking. Walk for 5 minutes, and come home. how do you feel? Can you do this every day? It only takes 10 minutes total. If you can’t do 5 minutes do 4 or 3 or 2. If 5 was no problem walk for 10 minutes, turn around and come home. If you have a dog take him with you! (same goes for a spouse!) Walking 20 minutes a day will give you such a health and weight loss boost because it is something you can do, you don’t need special equipment or a gym membership, the hardest thing is the first step. Pretty soon you will just do it, it will become habit and you won’t even think about it. You might even get to know your neighbors and have a walking buddy!

Easy Healthy Recipes! (if I can cook this so can YOU!)

Tofu scramble: (quantities and ingredients are up to your liking, that’s how I roll in the kitchen!) Spray a large frying pan with canola oil, brown onions, peppers and garlic over medium high heat then add a block of tofu (silken is lower is calories and fat but I prefer extra firm for the protein content and texture) to the pan. Mash up the tofu with the wooden spoon you stirred the onions with. Add corn, salsa, Tabasco sauce, and anything else you like. Salt to taste. Really since you are not dealing with animal products and everything here can be eaten raw you just need to heat it up so no worries.

Veggie Chili: I think chilli is an “anything goes” type of dish but here is a typical batch, you can also do this in a crock pot, just cook any onions, garlic and peppers in the pot first for 1/2 hour with a bit of oil and salt. Brown as much onion, garlic and papers as you like in a large sauce pan with a wee bit of canola oil or cooking spray over medium heat. I don’t mind oil here because it is dispersed in a  large pot of chili, it also helps break up the spice. then ad

  • one 15oz can each of corn, dark red kidney beans, black beans garbanzo beans and any other bean you like,(rinse/drain all beans first!) tomato sauce and diced tomatoes
  • cumin, chili powder, salt and Tabasco sauce.
  • 1 bag of Boca crumbles (or 1 cup dry TVP plus 1 cup boiling water to reconstitute it)

You can even dump a beer into the chili for extra flavor! Enjoy alone or over rice, potatoes or tortilla chips if you are not watching calories.

Baked No-Fat Fries: Super easy, I recommend making these when you are baking something else (like banana bread or muffins) wash 3 potatoes. Slice in 1/4″ thick rounds. spray a cookie sheet with canola oil spray. Place potato rounds in a single layer on pan. Spray potatos with canola oil and sprinkle on garlic powder and salt. Bake at 350 on bottom rack of oven for 40 minutes flipping them at 20 minutes. serve immediately! I used to make these with oil and they always burnt and stuck, the spray is better!

While the fries are baking on the bottom rack you can make weight watchers pumpkin muffins on the middle rack. A friend shared this recipe with me and it is awesome: Use an electric mixer to mix a box of spice cake mix with a large can of pumpkin. Add a cup of chocolate chips if you like, spoon into muffin cups and bake at 350 until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out dry, about 30 minutes. Pumpkin muffins and fries, now that’s my kind of diet!

Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you like the healthy vegan recipes, if nothing else you have something to feed a vegan should one come to dinner;) Happy crafting!

27 thoughts on “Easy substitutions for healthier living;)

  1. Thanks for reminding us to be proactive. 93% of soy in America today is GMO. I do not think that this makes for a healthy body or a healthy Mother Earth. Please read the label on the crumbles as it is a processed food and contains things I don’t care to put in my body. I prefer to eat real food..organic veggies and fruit and free range grass fed beef, pork and chicken.

    Like

    1. I get organic soybeans from the health food store, I think the dry TVP they sell is organic too, I checked the package of crumbles and it does not say “non GMO” so likely it is but it beats traditionally farmed cattle in my book! It stinks that they do not have to label GMO food, even if it is not dangerous I’d rather support the small family farms and not huge agra-business. A lot of the soy Americans eat are in junk food tho, and vegetable oil, not tofu and soymilk which is mostly made from organic soybeans, at least the stuff i buy is and it is pretty common. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Thank you for this information. Sometimes I just need a reminder to step away from the craft table for a bit. I am usually refreshed and inspired when I return after a little walk. I am going to look for the crumble, that sounds great! Have a wonderful day. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Melissa, I like to take a “badminton break” in the summer, my kids all like to play so I can find an opponent easily;) When thewy are in school my dog is always up for a walk. Best of all I come up with ideas for projects when I am taking a stroll:)

      Like

  3. Thanks for this, Lindsay. You have really struck a chord with me regarding exercise as I am on a weightloss plan and have lost 15lbs so far but have not done any exercise yet. You have now inspired me to take a walk even if it is only for 5 or 10 mins. I need to wait until the kids are in bed but that’s OK I will still have time then, just need to stop finding excuses!

    Like

    1. 15lbs, that’s awesome! Adding a bit of exercise will help you lose more! If waiting til the kids are in bed is difficult just bring them with you, kids will benefit too and you may find it gives you a good chance to talk about your day. Keep it up!

      Like

  4. I made my own granola and granola bars. They are delicious and I like that I know what ingredients are in my food.

    Like

  5. For months, I ‘ve had a whey protein shake for breakfast (fruit added) and then eat dinner. No bread for ages. I haven’t lost an ounce! I have a bad knee so can’t walk very far. Very discouraging but I feel healthy even tho I am over weight.

    Like

  6. I loved this as I make my chili and any ground beef recipe with the crumbles and no one knows the difference. I am on my way to a vegan diet as the scares about food and the way animals are raised and the chemicals is not good.

    Like

  7. I’m not a vegan or close but I haven’t eaten beef since the 90’s when I talked to a man taking cattle to market. I was bothered by the way they were packed in the truck and his comment about it doesn’t matter based on where they’re headed. 😦 I just cried and stopped eating beef. Anyway, just this week I bought some crumbles for spaghetti sauce and I’m even more anxious now to try it. Thanks, Lindsay!

    Like

  8. Thank you for taking the time to offer some healthy suggestions and alternatives. I immediately will cook up a pot of oatmeal to keep in the refrig to use in the morning.

    Lindsay, this is off the topic for today but will you PLEASE give instructions as to what to do with the popsicle loom thingie as it continues growing? I don’t know how to bind it off and it’s nearly three feet long and I don’t know what I’m going to use it for anyway! Sure fun to do once I figured it out!

    Keep up the wonderful information from A to Z! Love you, Andree C. in Olympia, Washington, where it is sunny again today!

    Like

    1. Hi Andree, there are a couple ways to finish the spool knit peices. If you want a closed tube you can simply cut the yarn leaving 12″ string and thread the end through a yarn needle then pick up each stitch left on the pegs with it and pull it tight. Tie a knot and weave in the ends. For an open tube pick up all of the stitches with 1 knitting needle making sure the stitch with the yarn attached is at the tip then bind off traditionally. If you do knot have knitting needles you can use 2 pencils. If you do not know how to bind off see this video: http://youtu.be/mg52w9RsrEE binding off instructions are at 7 minutes;)

      Like

  9. Thanks for the healthy reminders 🙂 One quick qu about the pumpkin muffins, are you supose to make the cake mix as directed before adding the pumpkin, or add it to it dry? I will be trying these soon!!

    Like

  10. Great post Lindsay!! Some of these I haven’t tried-!- but I’m so bad cause I like nothing better then serving vegetarian chilli or something similar to meat eaters and have them rave over how good it is and proud of me for cooking meat!!!!! Love it- the devil made me do it!!!!
    Does the rest of your family eat eggs from your chickens- do u cook them? I’ve only in the last couple years been able to cook them- took me a long time !!
    Here’s to rain in our gardens – but a nice weekend!!
    Lorraine 🙂

    Like

  11. Great tips Lindsay, thanks for sharing them. I eat oatmeal every morning and feel 100% better now that I do too. Looks like a good recipe for Pumpkin muffins too., I plan to try that. ~Diane

    Like

  12. A quick note about ‘Old Fashioned Oats’….I cook mine in the microwave in a 4 cup measuring cup – 1 part oats, 2 parts water – cook for 1 minute…………how’s that for a quick breakfast! I do add raisins or cranberries before cooking, OR fresh fruit after cooking to switch it up a bit. Personally, I do not even add sugar or milk after cooking.
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  13. I agree with everything you said! I haven’t eaten meat in about 20 years and my husband has slowly switched to vegetarian as well. I love to take traditional meat receipes and make them vegetarian. He loves my “messy tofu” sandwiches that I make. Lots of veggie products on the market now – especially in the States. We love MorningStar Farm riblets! Strange thing – I was anemic all my life until I became vegetarian – now my iron levels are great and without supplements!

    Like

  14. Glad your husband is doing well. I appreciate your thinking of our health too. One thing to remember is those of us who have experienced estrogen positive breast cancer cannot eat soy based foods. Unfortunately for us, soy is now is everything. I do eat animal products because I must have protein. I try to find foods without hormones. I also try to eat low fat protein, whole grains, fruits and veggies. Moderation in all things! I guess we all need to find the best system for us and stick to it as much as possible.

    Like

  15. P.S. I use an olive oil sprayer. Some of the canned ones on the market have soy. I cook Coaches Oats from Costco for 4 minutes in the microwave. Great stuff! I love the pumpkin muffins!

    Like

    1. where did you find the sprayer? I’d like to get one! I used to have a hairspray bottle you could put pump hairspray in and pump it up (like a bicycle pump) and spray like an aerosol, big hair, those were the days right?

      Like

    1. Thanks for the info Lisa, I have the Hannaford brand all natural canola oil spray and there are like 3 ingredients: Canola oil, soy lecithin and propellant (non-chlorofluorocarbons) and it is Parve. I wonder if I got lucky or if the companies cleaned up their acts? Where can you find the oil misters? I like that idea? I know the cooking spray is oil, it just helps you control the quantity;) Sorry to mislead anyone:)

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.