How many roses is this woman going to paint?!?

OK, the social distancing might be getting to me. I have apparently only been painting roses this week! Let’s call it “Working in a Series” and not “Lindsay’s Lost her Mind”, does that sound good to you?

This painting took quite a long time to paint (About 2 1/2 hours) and to be honest, I’m not totally happy with it but I am going to set it aside and look at it in a few days. There is a real time tutorial of this in Critique Club (we edited out the repetitive bits so it’s a mere hour and a half) if you are interested. For those of you who are not members, Critique Club is a group that allows you to upload 2 paintings a month for an in-depth critique from me. You also have access to dozens of long, more advanced tutorials in a variety of medias with 2 new tutorials every month. You can learn more or join here. Now, on to the time lapse!

All of the supplies I am using are in my new signature set from Jerry’s Artarama. I am kinda excited to have my own signature sets and I will share more about them later this week! Here is the reference photo I used today.

I hope you are safe and healthy. Happy crafting!

11 thoughts on “How many roses is this woman going to paint?!?

  1. Congratulation Lindsay on your signature Turner watercolor set! I love Turner watercolors. They are great quality and very affordable

    Like

  2. Hi Lindsay,
    Those painted roses are so beautiful! I think it is one of the best paintings that YOU have done. Thank you for demonstrating it for us. I plan to try and paint one.
    Congratulations on your Signature Turner watercolour set!!
    Praying that you and your family stay healthy and stay safe.
    God bless.
    Linda H.

    Like

  3. Lindsay, that’s way better than I could ever do. Come to Wisconsin and paint a tornado in the midst of the virus. Does that sound better?

    Like

  4. I came here inspired by your review on Amazon of Rembrandt watercolors. More later.
    Anyway I came here to check out your site an see your blog with the ‘how many roses…’
    As a gardener and finding roses hard do I am so glad you do alot of roses. Maybe I will find the secret to doing them. I can paint and do my colored pencils with other flowers and things like scenes of France but, roses defy me.
    And I love the painting featured.
    Now, I am a watercolor newbie. I have painted in oils and acrylics but, watercolor was something I found hard. Now I am finally facing them.
    I have picked up a few paints from different brands to find a watercolor.
    I made mistakes with a few first tries. I don’t like W & N cotman. I don’t like Mijello. I think Daniel Smith is a bit over rated. They are so so to me.
    I have always had good luck with Rembrandt. They are so overlooked. And here in the US they are a bit expensive. But, on Jackson’s art supply in England they had the 48 set you reviewed for 125.00. I ordered it because of my enjoying the brand in the past. 2 weeks wait time.
    Because you do roses and have used Rembrandts I am going to be checking out your videos and blog.
    Thanks for your inspiration

    Like

  5. Hi Lindsay I love the set but can’t seem to order it to come to Canada,
    Can they be shipped to Canada??
    If not hope it stays available until we can again travel to USA to pick it up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it should be available for the long haul. They were overwhelmed with orders and it is taking time to restock but they are excited about carrying it for a long time!

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.