Complex clouds (that aren’t) in watercolor! Tutorial!

Hi friends! By now I am probably hanging out with my crafty peeps in W. Springfield MA but I could not bear to leave you without any crafty goodness on a Friday night so how about we paint this serene scene in watercolor:

boatblog

You only need three colors of paint: Cadmium Red Deep, Lemon Yellow, Cobalt Blue and two brushes:
1/2″ cat’s Tongue Filbert (Princeton Neptune synthetic sable) and #8 round (Royal Aqualon).
My surface is 9″x12″ Cotman Watercolor paper 140# Cold Pressed. Other Supplies: Painters/masking tape, pencil, water buckets and a paper towel.

Watch the video to see how it’s done in real-time. This can be painted in under 20 minutes!

The image I used as a reference is from our sponsor GraphicStock (search “fishing boat sunset” and you will find it.) You may think they are only a source for professional, commercial use clip art but they have so much more available. Have a look around and if you like what you see sign up for a free 7 day trial and download some goodies. I like how you can sort projects ideas into light-boxes do you won’t forget what you liked and then you can download the ones you want to use when you are ready, I don’t like clutter on my computer. Now, I will tell you that a credit card is required to use the free trial and if you don’t cancel before the 7 days are over you will be charged. Think of it as a “Netflix” for graphics! You can go month to month or sign up for a year for more savings.

I hope you have a great weekend! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!