Reviewing a Classic: Winsor & Newton Designer Gouache

Hi friends! I have another gouache to review this week. I mentioned last year that I wanted to purchase the smaller mixing sets from different gouache brands to see how they were. Today we look at the tried and true classic, Winsor & Newton mixing set of 6 Designer’s Gouache. Please note that Winsor & Newton has recently released a budget student gouache but I have not tried that, the box on Amazon says “made in France” so maybe they are the same but I don’t know, I have not used it nor do I know anyone who as so if you have tried that cheaper set please let us know what you thought of it in the comments.

The colors in the set are Zinc White, Ivory Black, Primary Red, Primary Blue, Primary Yellow, and Permanent green middle. the tubes are 14ml and a simple mixing brochure with info on the colors in the range is included. You can find this set on Blick and Amazon for roughly the same price. Blick also carries open-stock tubes which might be a better choice for you.

Pros:

  • Price
  • Colors mix well
  • Pigment and lightfastness info is provided
  • Easy to work with
  • Rewets fine so the dry paint on your palette can be reused

Cons:

  • The colors are fairly transparent for a gouache
  • The red is not lightfast
  • There was some binder separation on a few of the colors *Note many viewers on YouTube also mentioned binder separation with the majority of their W&N gouache
  • In my opinion, the green is a waste in this set, and a brown would have been much more useful.

Here is a look at the full gouache range. You can see how opaque the colors are and the lightfast rating so you can make the best choice. These are professional paints but created for artists working for reproduction, such as graphic designers. Hence the name Designers Gouache.

Bottom line: I think these paints are nice and well-priced. The opacity was good enough that I did not struggle to layer colors or paint on toned paper. I enjoyed the color selection (except the green) and liked the zinc white for mixing. I think this would be a good mixing set but the lack of a brown might be unnecessarily frustrating for a beginner. What do you think? Have you used this gouache of their new student set? Let me know what you think in the comments below and til next time happy crafting!

2 thoughts on “Reviewing a Classic: Winsor & Newton Designer Gouache

  1. Hullo Lindsay, I eliminated this brand from my gouache choices as I did not know anyone who actually used it! I did buy the DiVinci White and have been happy with it, I was quite disappointed with your review and your disappointment in it. I got the white gouache as I am trying to use it for highlights. It is quite hard for me to do this as I was taught, quite forcefully I must add, that you NEVER use white paint with watercolors! I see it being used right left and center all over the internet, I have done better with mixed media pieces, Since I was told this is the one way you can use white in a painting. It was only after I took an acrylic class in college that I was told or “given permission” to use white for high lights! Thanks for continuing to be an example for us out here trying our best to break out of those Old ways of working. Have yourself a lovely day!

    Like

    1. Thanks, actaully someone showed DaVinci my gouache review and they said they were taking the suf=ggestions to heart and looking for ways to improve it (according to the video that sent them my video) and I would gadfly give them another chance because I think the gouach uses good quality ingredients so if they can gid rid of the shine they would have a great product even if all the colors weren’t totally opaque, I can overlook that but not the glossiness.

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.