Qor Watercolor half-pan sets (Review)

Hi friends! I recently stumbled upon some cut 6-color watercolor pan sets of QoR paint by Golden. I loved the tube version of the paint and decided to buy 3 different half-pan sets because they were such a good deal. I think they are discontinuing some colors and changing packaging and that’s why they have been so cheap. I have two reviews for you today, one for the Urban Sketch set which is my favorite, and also for the Intensity set. The granulator set is also nice but needs other colors to be useful in my opinion.

First up, the Urban Sketch set!

I bought mine on Amazon but Blick has a good price too. This set includes Benzimidazolone Yellow, Quinacridone Red, Cobalt Blue, Cobalt Teal, Van Dyke Brown, and Paynes Grey (although on Blick it says it has Neutral Tint so maybe they have recently swapped a color and that’s why I got a deal?)

Pros:

  • Great quality
  • Awesome color selection
  • I got it for 60% off retail!
  • Made in the USA
  • Colors mix and layer well
  • Tin did not stain
  • Room for 6 more colors
  • Swatch card included

Cons:

  • The only con is that it is sold out at the price I paid but I still think it is worth Blick’s sale price

Now for the Intensity set

These colors are Knock your socks off vibrant! I was able to snag this set for a song on Amazon but Blick has them too so be sure to compare prices. This set includes Hansa Yellow Light, Transparent Pyrrole Orange, Quinacridone Magenta, Dioxazine Purple, Cerulean Blue Chromium, and Phthalo Turquoise, plus six empty half pans for mixing, adding additional colors, or removing to include a travel brush.

Pros:

  • Nice tin and packaging
  • Beautiful vibrant colors that mix cleanly
  • Layers well
  • Nice dispersion in water
  • Made in the USA
  • Included swatch card

Cons:

  • The price I paid may be unavailable

Both sets are lovely and very concentrated so a little goes a long way. If you have ever been curious about this line of paints it’s a great way to start. I will have a comparison of the tubes vs the pans at a later date so stay tuned for that. Happy crafting!