Stamp School: Easy Layered Mixed Media Card!

Hi friends! I know a lot of people are intimidated by using “messy” supplies on cards but I hope to help you get over your fear with today’s simple card:

john2

All you need is cardstock, a stencil, foam and rubber stamps and acrylic paint. You can use either a cosmetic sponge or foam brush to apply the paint and yes they can be washed and reused. Watch my tutorial to see how easy it is!

Video!

The stamps and stencil came in a kit from Stampendous, they have 3 of them, one with an indian/elephant theme, one nature bird theme and this urban theme. I have all 3 and they make mixed media layering a breeze. When I first posted the video they had the sets at Simon Says Stamp and Blitsy but now both places are sold out:( I bet if you ask your favorite stamp store they will order it for you (these are brand new so they should:) plus that helps you local stamp store if you are lucky enough to have one, win-win!  If you are not sure if you like this sort of thing I recommend trying one and see if you care for it before stocking up on all 3. I hope they make more kits like this!

john5

Don’t forget to add some light-colored paper to the inside of the card if you are working on dark cardstock to make an area for writing. I use pattern paper scraps for this, hey, the back side is white, why waste it? A little bit of washi tape can also snazzy up the inside without making it to fru-fru!

john4

If you would like more in-depth lessons on Mixed Media please check out my new class at Craftsy, I am giving a 50% discount to all of my readers, just click the 50% off link here. I break down the process of creating interesting mixed media paintings into manageable step by step layers. I am really proud of this class and I think it can really help beginners learn the “Why” as well as the “How” of some of the popular mixed media materials and techniques out there all while keeping your budget in mind by getting the most use out of versatile supplies. I don’t like to buy a product that has only one use that ends up sitting on the shelf collecting dust and I don’t think you do either! You can take the class at your own pace and you have lifetime access to the class so there is no rush BUT if you want the 50% off savings enroll in Mixed It Up Mixed Media Step By Step soon! I can’t wait to see your artwork in the classroom! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

10621_728x90-69f3487a-a83b-4bcf-8da9-19bb6fe4b711