Altenew Blog Hop & August Release (Prizes Too!)

Hi friends and welcome to folks finding my blog from Amber Rain Davis‘ blog. I was thrilled to be able to participate in the Altenew blog hop this month. With how crazy this year has been it has been nice to make some fanciful art!

Click the pic to see all the new goodies!

I found a pack of 5 cotton face masks at a local department store and thought they would be perfect to alter!

I stamped the new Beauty Within stamp set from Altenew on the fabric mask with Obsidian pigment ink and then heat set it. I also die cut the flowers and leaves to make masks (you could also stamp extra images out and hand cut them if you don’t have the dies) so I could create an image with several stamps. Then I painted the design with Inktense blocks because they are permanent when dry, even on fabric! I added accents with textile paint (I didn’t want to do this all in fabric paint because I thought it would make the mask hard to breathe in) and I also added some depth with Tulip fabric markers. I heat set the mask with a embossing heat gun when it was dry but you could also use an iron. Tip: If you find it hard to stamp on the mask stretch it over a large acrylic block and clip in in place with binder clips. If the stamped image is missing some parts you can fill them in with a black fabric marker. I recommend washing the mask by hand separately the first time you wash it in case any dye transfers. Mine washed beautifully!


To celebrate this release, Altenew is giving away a $50 gift certificate to 6 lucky winners! Please leave a comment on the Altenew Card Blog by 8/17/2020 for a chance to win. 

We’ll also draw a winner to receive a $20 gift certificate from the comments left on each designer’s blog on the blog hop list below. 

All winners will be announced on the Altenew Winners Page on 08/20/2020.

Here is the entire blog hop list in case you get lost:)

Altenew Card Blog

Jaycee Gaspar

Laurie Willison

Vicky Papaioannou

Nathalie DeSousa

Nicole Watt


Svitlana Shayevich

Lydia Fiedler

Maryam Perez

Amber Rain Davis

Lindsay Weirich You are here!

Erum Tasneem

Lilith Eeckels

Dana Joy

Therese Calvird

Tania Ahmed

Norine Borys

Lydia Evans

Reiko Tsuchida

Jessie Banks

Be sure to leave a comment for a chance to win a $20 gift certificate before heading to the next stop on the hop Erum Tasneem‘s blog! Good luck and happy crafting!