Mixed Media with Limited Supplies!

Hi friends! Have you ever created with supplies someone else picked for you? It can be fun to challenge yourself to use a limited amount of colors and supplies because then your creativity can soar. It can also keep you from getting overwhelmed with too many options.

birdnestblogmmsmartart

When I opened my Smart Art kit this month I was pleased to see items I was familiar with in colors I did not have. The color palette was very limited so I put my thinking cap on as to what I could create with it. Working with a color palette of bright yellow, bright orange, grey, black and pale aqua was tricky to say the least. Watch the video to see what I created!

Sponsored by Smart Art. Past kits available here.

Supplies:

  • Gelatos (50’s diner colors with brush and blender stick)
  • Watercolor paper
  • Stencils
  • Stampers Big Brush Pen in Black
  • Additional brushes
  • Other supplies not it kit: Water bucket and credit card scraper

I always found whenever I traveled anywhere to create that I got more done the less I brought. I also had to be more creative and stretch my supplies. You don’t have to subscribe to an art subscription box (although Smart Art Box is a great option if you do) to enjoy working from a limited supply. You can easily box up a few supplies from your stash and make your own DIY kit to create from! It works even better it you bring the box outside of your craft area to create as you won’t be tempted to reach for other supplies. It’s funny how using LESS can make you MORE creative! So, look in your art stash and find something that you haven’t used yet (or used in a while) and make yourself an art kit! It is so fun! Or if you want someone else to do the work for you check out Smart Art Box, they ship to many countries worldwide. Let me know in the comments below what unloved product you would add to your kit and til next time happy crafting!

3 Responses

  1. I really love this bird! I think i might try this someday!

    Like

  2. You never cease to amaze me! Thanks for the inspiration. You make it all so approachable.

    Like

  3. Great to watch your process. I learned a lot of fun techniques. Thanks so much.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

