Stamp Giveaway & Metallic Look 3 Ways! Use Your Stash!

Edit: Contest closed, the winner has been notified in the comments below and by email. Thanks for playing!

Hi friends! Today I have 3 ways for you to get a metallic look on your cards without ink! So many times we think that ink is the only game in town when it comes to stamping but that is not the case at all! When I first starting stamping I was overwhelmed at the cost of all the inkpads I would need to make the cards I wanted so I used the acrylic paint I already had instead and it worked great. In today’s tutorial I will show you how to use acrylic paint, mica powder and water-soluble crayons/pastels to get fabulous metallic looks! Make sure you leave a comment for a chance to win the stamps I showcased from ArtNeko. This giveaway is open worldwide and winner will be notified via email in a week.

mtellicthumb

Are you ready to get messy? Watch the video and get started!

Sponsored by Art Neko *Save 10% off your next order of any size or get free shipping on orders over $50 (whichever discount is greater you get!) just by mentioning thefrugalcrafter!

Supplies:

About the embellishment I used: A couple of years ago I purchased an inexpensive children’s game from a store in Chinatown. I think it is a travel Mahjong game. During a recent declutter I came across it in my “Random game piece drawer” and I noticed how the tiles wanted to come apart, so I took them apart and put the flat tile tops in my cardmaking stash and I used one on this card. The bottoms of the tiles I ended up spray painting white so I can use them when I need a watercolor pan. I often like to put magnets on the bottoms of pans and use them in reclaimed tins as custom palettes. I think these might actually fit my metal palettes as well because they are about the same width as a half pan.

19534794_147002919201491_5250161794927820800_n.jpg

Tips for picking the right metallic medium:

  1. Use acrylics if you want a durable surface that won’t need to be sealed and can take handling such as a postcard or even crafts and furniture. The sky’s the limit with acrylic!
  2. Use Gelatos/Gel Sticks/Watercolor Crayons when you want a painterly look! If you are using them with water or rubbing them into your cardstock they won’t require sealing but if you are using them thickly you will want to seal them because they will smudge.
  3. If you want a crisp and perfect design use clear ink and Pearl EX/Perfect Pearls (or Mica based eyeshadow.) Keep in mind that Pearl Ex (what I used) may smudge if not sealed with fixative or hairspray.

Will you try any of these techniques? Let me know which one in the comments below! Your comment will enter you in the prize draw to win these stamps too! Please note some comments require moderation so if you don’t see your comment live immediately please be patient, I will approve it shortly:) Good luck in the giveaway and til next time happy crafting!

