A New Watercolor Poppy to Paint!

Hi friends! As you might have realized I like to paint poppies and there were some beautiful ones growing on Monhegan Island when I was out there last week. Here is one I painted from a flower in someone’s garden.

19237828_10209433955391245_2085564962554166599_o.jpg

Watch the video for a step by step tutorial and paint along!

If you enjoyed this free painting tutorial please check out my Essential Tools & Techniques for Watercolor Course. It gives you the basics on the tools and supplies as well as foundational techniques so you can create stunning watercolors no matter what subject you choose to paint! From color mixing and holding a brush to creating 3 stunning paintings this class gives you the information you need with no filler boiled down to 5 hours of lessons you can complete at your own pace and you can keep the class for life! I hope to see you in class:)

Supplies:

Sketch and paint along with me! Feel free to pause the video if needed (or slow it down or speed it up:) There is a little gear at the bottom of the video player screen that lets you change the speed and quality of the video. Speed it up and I sound like a deranged chipmunk, good times. I took lots of photos on Monhegan Island so I hope to bring you some more coastal Maine painting tutorials soon. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

8 Responses

  1. Oh, thank you so much. I love poppies.

    Like

  2. This makes me want to stop everything I’m doing right now and start painting! I love poppies too and this painting is your best painting ever!

    Like

  3. Thanks for a great time & teaching. I would love to buy this, if you sell. I’m going to send you a couple of photos when I look at all later this week. rc

    >

    Like

  4. beautiful! I have a poppy tattoo on my thigh. I love it.

    Like

  5. Very pretty. Hope you are enjoying your summer.

    Like

  6. Lindsay, I think this is my favourite of all the poppy paintings you’ve done. I’m going to share it with my friend who is just going to try watercolours.

    Like

  7. This is so cute! You make it look so easy! :p

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

