Last Two Days to Save 50% on My Watercolor Course!

Hi friends! I just wanted to pop in with a friendly reminder that my Essential Tools and Techniques for Watercolor course is 50% off through tomorrow! Come June 1st it will cost $79 to enroll in this class but you can enroll today for $39 and have lifetime access so you can take you time in completing it and return to it whenever you feel like you want a refresher.

watercolor_course_thumb

Still not convinced? Here is what some of the students have to say:

“Thanks so much for this class Lindsay as well as all the videos you do. You are so encouraging and motivating.” -Virginia Staib

“Lindsay, you’re the greatest! I’m pleased with the results of my still life after a second try. I’ve definitely enjoyed your in-depth course. Still need work on glass but it’s the best I’ve done. Keep up the good work. Looking forward to more classes.” -Priscilla M. Ware

“I hate for this to end. I have never done watercolor before because everyone said it was so hard but you made it so enjoyable, I’ve done oil and acrylic but I think……I really like the water color. Especially how you never waste any paint! It was so much fun and relaxing. I want to learn more, more, more so I hope you will have another one.” -Sherry Sandberg

“Lindsay, I am enjoying your class so much! You have such a nice manner and make everything look easy! Your lessons are such a pleasure, it is like spending time with a fun friend who also happens to be an artist!” -Gerri Dauer

The class is broken up into two parts. In the first part we go over techniques on their own and color mixing. We also learn washes. It is important to isolate these skills so you can practise and perfect them.

watercolor_promo_slate

In the second part of the course we put those techniques to good use as we complete three finished paintings. Learning a technique is only useful if you see how to apply it in a painting.

blog_iris2 - Copy

In the iris painting we learn wet-in-wet wash, plastic wrap texture, scraping, glazing, shading, color mixing, masking fluid and cutting highlights.

blog_watercolor_class_landscape

In the landscape we learn wet-in-wet washes, lifting, layering, composition, perspective, spattering, masking with tape, side load shading, scraping, shading, color mixing and reflections.

final_stilllife

In the still life we learn masking with masking fluid, controlled wash, wet-in-wet wash, salt texture, layering for texture, glazing, lifting, shadows, reflections and glass refractions.

blog_watercolor_class2

You can see that many techniques are repeated in the painting lessons, that’s because application and repetition over different subject matters will help you learn where you can use those techniques on your future paintings making the techniques you learn in this class extend to your art outside of the classroom.

IMG_20170504_214650

If you love watercolor but feel you are missing some of the foundations or you want to brush up (pun intended) on your skills and have three new paintings to show for it consider enrolling in Essential Tools and Techniques for Watercolor Today! On sale for $39 (regular $79) through May 31, 2017. Don’t miss out, learn the essentials for half price! Thank you so much for your support and til next time happy crafting & painting!

13 Responses

  1. I think you are a teriffic talent! I just can’t keep up with my stamping, as it is! Have a friend-char, that I need to share this with, tho. Marsha

    Like

  2. Hi Lindsay,I hope this gets to you in time before the sale is off today. I just saw it this morning and want to take advantage but have concerns. I have not really done any water coloring although I love it. WhatI have tried has been very small on some of my hand made cards. So not knowing what I am doingdoesn’t show. Ha.Anyway you said I would have lifetime access. My issue is I am not very computer literate and have aproblem going back to those classes online that I sign up for. 1) Do I go to your site and access from there or another way?2) What do I do if I have issues with it?3) I really want to learn about water color because I love the look and I have the colors. I don’t havemuch else other than a few brushes. Do I need to buy a lot of items to begin?4) Finances are not good right now since we are a one income family of 2. How much do I need to prepare forto begin?thanks so muchthea~PS call me thea~

    Like

    • I just sent you an email answering your questions but I will post it here as well to help others:)
      You can always bookmark the class if you are afraid you will forget where it is but there is a clickable link on my blog left hand sidebar too. Here is the link to class: https://lindsayweirich.teachable.com/p/essential-tools-and-techniques-for-watercolor-painting

      Once enrolled you just log in at the top on the page:) You can write down your email and password on a post-it not and keep it near your computer or have your computer remember it for you.

      If you have any issues playing the class videos I have a FAQ page you can check and if that does not help you can email me and I will help you or reach out to tech support for you. If that fails I will refund you money. I recommend if you want to do the class on an ipad or iphone you use the free teachable app. Here is the FAQ page: https://lindsayweirich.teachable.com/p/faq

      Here is a list of supplies, you can use any watercolors you like so compare the list to what you have:
      Here are the materials: (feel free to use the brands you have and like)
      Paint: Daniel Smith Essential set of 6 colors (see colors below-substitutions in parenthesis) *If you are buying new colors, I recommend the first color listed- any reputable brand is fine. However, if you have paint already, the substitute colors will be fine too.
      Cool yellow: Hansa Yellow Light (Cadmium Lemon, Lemon Yellow)
      Cool red: Quinacridone Rose (Alizerin Crimson, Magenta, Carmine)
      Cool blue: Phthalo Blue (Prussian blue, Cyan, Turquoise-deep,Intense Blue)
      Warm yellow: New Gamboge (Cad. Yellow Deep, Indian Yellow)
      Warm red: Pyrrol Scarlet (Cad. Red, Vermillion, Scarlet)
      Warm blue: French Ultramarine (Cobalt Blue)
      I also recommend having Yellow Ocher (Winsor & Newton), Sap Green (Sennelier Olive) and Burnt Sienna (Rembrant) in your palette.
      Masking fluid
      Watercolor paper 9″x12″ (I recommend Arches CP or Strathmore 400 series)
      Graphite paper *Optional-if you would rather tace the provided patterns
      Pencil
      Paper towels
      White plate or plastic watercolor palette

      You can always upgrade later and use what you have for now:) Let me know if you have any other questions and have a great night:)

      Like

  3. Hi Lindsay… I’ve been way behind on my e-mails and this is the first I’ve seen about your watercolor class. I read through this post and it seems like this is a course that it aimed at people who already have some background in painting/watercolor. But, I wanted to be sure. Is this a class for the beginner or for those who are more experienced already? I signed up for a beginner watercolor class a while back and had to ask for a refund because it was just way too simple. I’ve never had any formal art training, but I’m not stupid, so just couldn’t learn anything from a class that was all common sense stuff. Your description of this class sounds like it really covers a lot of great techniques so you have my interest. I’ve been looking for a watercolor class for a long time so just wondered if this one might be a good place to start. Also, is there a place to see what supplies are needed. I have some basic watercolor supplies but would like to know everything that is required so that I can make the decision about whether I can afford to take the class at this time. I know some supplies can be pretty expensive. 🙂

    Thanks!!!

    Like

    • Hi CC,
      This is a class suitable for beginners or people who have been painting for a while but feel as though the are missing some framework in their watercolor knowledge. You might find the first part of the course too basic with the color theory, texture techniques and washes but perhaps the real time painting tutorials in the second part would suit you. I wouldn’t say that the course contains “common sense stuff” but I assume that you are a beginner therefore I thoroughly explain the techniques and materials. I guess my advice would be to look at the 3 finished paintings and see if it would be worth the money to learn how to paint them:)

      Here are the materials: (feel free to use the brands you have and like)

      Paint: Daniel Smith Essential set of 6 colors (see colors below-substitutions in parenthesis) *If you are buying new colors, I recommend the first color listed- any reputable brand is fine. However, if you have paint already, the substitute colors will be fine too.

      Cool yellow: Hansa Yellow Light (Cadmium Lemon, Lemon Yellow)
      Cool red: Quinacridone Rose (Alizerin Crimson, Magenta, Carmine)
      Cool blue: Phthalo Blue (Prussian blue, Cyan, Turquoise-deep,Intense Blue)
      Warm yellow: New Gamboge (Cad. Yellow Deep, Indian Yellow)
      Warm red: Pyrrol Scarlet (Cad. Red, Vermillion, Scarlet)
      Warm blue: French Ultramarine (Cobalt Blue)
      I also recommend having Yellow Ocher (Winsor & Newton), Sap Green (Sennelier Olive) and Burnt Sienna (Rembrant) in your palette.

      Masking fluid
      Watercolor paper 9″x12″ (I recommend Arches CP or Strathmore 400 series)
      Graphite paper *Optional-if you would rather tace the provided patterns
      Pencil
      Paper towels
      White plate or plastic watercolor palette

      Hope that helps, let me know if you have any questions:)

      Like

  4. I have already enrolled but haven’t had a chance to start the classes. I hope June is the month I can jump in!

    Like

  5. Hello!
    Just enrolled and am so excited!! I have J-U-S-T started painting with water colours. I have been watching your tutorials and trying my hand at a few and have enjoyed it immensely! However, as I was going on, I thought- I am missing the basics. I just don’t know about the brushes and mixing paint colours etc. And low and behold you had a class on those very things!! Eeek! Also, as I am a homeschooling mom in Australia- I was so thankful that the classes are already online and we can watch them when it is convenient. Some courses are live which means I would have to be up painting at 3am ! Also the price is reasonable!
    Anyway, all of that is to say a big thank you!!! I have really enjoyed the tutorials and all the tips you put in them. And so I am so glad to learn more from you.
    Thanks again for sharing some what you know.
    I really appreciate it!
    From down under:)
    Kb

    Like

  6. I signed up when first offered and I am not able to log In now. It says wrong password/email….

    Like

  7. Dear Lindsay,

    I need to reach you to resolve an issue I am having accessing your “Essential Tools and Techniques…” class. I could not log in using the password I know I set up and then when I requested to have a password reset sent to me I got the error message that my email address was not found. I have my credit card statement showing I did pay for the class on May 26, 2017. I cannot find a confirmation email from you. I was able to view the first 3 lessons initially but had a lot going on in my life and only within the past 2 weeks was able to try to watch the next lesson. I look forward to your help in resolving this issue.

    Sincerely,

    Pamela Jenkins

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

