LIVE Today! Let’s Paint a Ruffly Parrot Tulip & My New Watercolor Course!

EDIT: Here is the finished painting from today’s live stream, I think it is one of my favorites!

tulip_1_blog

Hi friends! It has been an exciting couple of hours here in the Frugalcrafter family! I just launched my first watercolor course called Essential Tools and Techniques for Watercolor Painters and it is getting an amazing response! More on that later. First up let’s talk about today’s free live painting class at 12:30pm Eastern Time on YouTube! We are painting a beautiful, ruffled parrot tulip! tulip-1978165_640.png

You can download a printable PDF pattern here or sketch it from the photo above. You can watch the free live painting tutorial, or the replay, in the player below but if you want to chat with other painters live or ask me watercolor questions during the show be sure to watch on the YouTube watch page.

Supplies:

Now on to my exciting news!!!!

watercolor_course_thumb

For years blog and YouTube subscribers have asked me to create a watercolor class. I wanted to distill the essential techniques every watercolor painter should know down into a course with easy digestible chunks. I wanted to provide information on the tools and supplies so you get what you need without getting overwhelmed with all the options out there, and I wanted to give practical techniques to practice and perfect so that you could go forth and paint whatever your heart desires.

IMG_20170504_214650

I also wanted to show you how to apply the techniques you learned so I created three paintings that you can follow along with and put your new skills into action.

final_stilllife

This class is self paced and you have lifetime access to the content. The lessons are broken up into manageable chunks so you won’t be overwhelmed.

18077210_10209013364396733_8498501865057230762_o

I also wanted to simplify color mixing using a split-primary palette so you can avoid the mud when you want brilliant colors and create interesting neutrals and shadows when you need to.

blog_watercolor_class2

Last week as I was wrapping up my filming I asked you “What would you like to see in a watercolor course?” and I carefully reviewed your thoughtful answers and I am proud to say that I think I covered almost everything!

blog_iris2 - Copy

I would be honored if you took a moment to check out my class and let me know what you think. My goal is to start watercolor beginners off on the right foot and fill in the gaps for more experienced painters who feel unsure about some of the foundations.

If you like the idea of learning watercolor painting at a relaxed pace from the comfort of your home please check out Essential Tools & Techniques for Watercolor Painting. I taught this curriculum as an 8 week course in my studio with success. Students paid $180 for the class in person and I always had a waiting list! I am offering this online class to my subscribers for $39 (Regular $79) during the month of May.

Most of all I want to thank you for the support and encouragement you have given me over the years and the confidence to create this course. You are the best! I hope you can join me live at 12:30pm Eastern Time on YouTube to paint this fun flower! Til then Happy Crafting & Painting!

