Year of the Rooster (in watercolor)

Hi friends! Since it is year of the rooster and I have had a few requests I decided to paint one and try out a new set of watercolors!

16904927_10208556965227039_6182442796615368038_o

The paints are Schminke Akadamie student grade paint and I am working in my Aquafine sketchbook so this was done with all student grade supplies (yep, use what you have:) Watch the video and paint along if you like!

I added spatters after I was done filming and you can see that in the top photo. I will have a proper review of these paints in a few days. as you may have noticed (probably not, you are busy I am sure) I have cut back to posting about 5 times a week. I am undertaking a massive home declutter inspired by Marie Kondo’s book The life Changing Magic of Tidying Up. So far I have done clothes, books and linens. It is quite a process. If you are unaware of her book, basically you gather all of your possessions by type (all books for instance) put them in a pile on the floor and pick each one up and ask yourself “does this spark joy?” and if yes you keep it and put it back on the shelf and if not you discard it. It’s amazing how any things collect in your house. I am famous for accepting hand me downs of all types, a recommended book, piece of furniture to be refurnished, art supplies, weird funky clothing and accessories, the list goes on. I usually enjoy these things but lately (for the past 6 months or so, maybe more) they have been making me feel anxious and claustrophobic.  It is time to clean out! I am simultaneously looking forward to and dreading the craft room tidy. I don’t enjoy creating as much as when I had less. Also I have all of my teaching supplies mixed in with my personal supplies which I reckon is a big part of the problem. Also there are crafts that just don’t appeal much to me anymore. I have probably made all of the candles I care to make for instance and I have supplies I bought when new to a craft that no longer suit me. I am saving that for last because I want to refine my decision-making process before I start. It is not going to be easy. I think I might film parts of the process because I have found it helpful to see how others tackled certain categories. I am really gung-ho on this project right now and I am wondering if any of you are going through the same no art mojo spring cleaning marathon phase? Let me know in the comments, we can cheer each other on! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

