Fun with Chinese Brush Painting Supplies!

Hi friends! I got a chance to play with some new supplies yesterday!

16665643_10208447103600567_8289342605426537033_o

Today we will use the supplies in this months Smart Art kit to paint a seagull and a rose. We will experiment with these supplies and have fun! Watch the video to see my first experiments!

Supplies are all found in the February box from our sponsor Smart Art Box:

  • Chinese paint brushes
  • Ink pens
  • Rice paper
  • Walnut ink

Bonus: This kit comes with a reusable “Buddha Board” for practicing your brush lettering, Sumi-e painting or Chinese brush art.

Please note that it take a lot of practice to become good in the art of Chinese brush painting and I am no expert but it was fun using these supplies! I hope you try something new today and if you would like to find the kit I used check out our sponsor Smart Art! Happy crafting!

4 Responses

  1. Very cool!

    Like

  2. Hi Lindsay,

    I have been dabbling with Chinese inks too…you should try some Gyotaku. I do like the walnut ink and I can confirm for you, after much research, that you do use the shiny side of the rice paper.

    Like

  3. Loving that SmartArt box!!!! I get the artsnacks monthly subscription and me thinks I’d rather get the SmartArt instead. I found a book at a thrift shop for Beginner Chinese Brush painting and bought it. In the step by step pictures they make it look easy, well…. not so much!!! Thanks for sharing!!! ((((HUGS))))

    Like

  4. I love the look of Chinese brush painting, but I have never tried it myself. I think your bird came out quite nice.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

