How I spent my winter vacation…

Hi friends! I am officially back and Mother Nature has welcomed us with a couple of feet of snow. So. Much. Snow. Well, it is pretty and luckily many business closed today so people could stay safe at home, they even pulled plow trucks off the roads for a few hours because it was too snowy to plow safely! When I joked from the Bahamas (on Instagram) that I hoped Maine would save me some snow when I got back I dd not expect 2+ feet of it! I hope everyone in the path of the blizzard is safe and sound, check on your neighbors and reach out for help if you need it. The kids and I did some shoveling this afternoon so hubby could get in the driveway after work and thank goodness for those kids, there is no way I could have done it alone. You don’t realize how out of shape you are until you have to shovel snow. I really think snowbirds have the right idea! As you might know our family took our first big “fly someplace far away” vacation last week. It was the perfect time to get away and we went to the Bahamas.

img_20170210_095759

It was a wonderful trip! Lots of relaxing and plenty to do. I took the opportunity to paint some scenes while I was there and I will share the watercolor sketches in today’s video.

I posted some of my sketches and travel pics on my Instagram in you want to check it out. I like to post behind the scenes stuff and work in progress on Instagram so if you like that sort of thing you can follow me there:) I often post stuff I am thinking about doing tutorials on to get feedback too so feel free to let me know if you want a tutorial of any of the sketches from my vacation. In addition to helping me remember the details of places I have been I also find painting on location helpful with my travel anxiety, having that one familiar thing to spend my nervous energy on helps me relax. Don’t worry about being perfect or precise when sketching on location, nobody is going to judge you and people who come up to you are generally curious and friendly. I got some questions about what I brought to create with and what you can bring on planes and I did this quick video for HGMM before I left explaining this travel set up. Unfortunately I lost my sharpie as soon as I got there (I let me kinds use it to label water bottles LOL!) and it would have been really useful to have, at least it wasn’t an expensive pen!

Even though we had a wonderful time and we just got a pile of snow I am still glad to be back home. I mentioned in the video that we used a travel agent and I would share her info if anyone wanted to know, she is a local friend of mine, her name is Amy and her business is First Class Travel. She didn’t ask me to mention her but she was wonderful and made me way less of a stress ball:)  Please let me know if you would like tutorials on any of the vacation sketches and til next time happy crafting!

12 Responses

  1. I feel like I was on vacation with you…thanks for sharing. That is exactly the kind of vacation I would want…next to nature, taking it all in, sketching and painting, swimming with the dolphins, quiet and relaxing, and spent with the people you love. Been to DisneyWorld and it was an experience, but not a vacation to me. Thanks for sharing. Love your water colors, as always!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on cajunbayoubelles and commented:
    Glad you got out of the snow. Here we get snow in south Louisiana one every 13 to 20 years…..

    Like

  3. Can’t comment on instagram as I have no account but those birds you did made me think of a tutorial with sandpipers and surf…

    Like

  4. Well I am delighted to here you have had a wonderful vacation! You certainly deserve it as your dedication is admirable. I have followed you for years and you have taught me all I know. Thank you Lindsay.

    Like

  5. I enjoy listening to you I felt like I was there glad you and family safety back home stay warm looking forward to seeing more have a bless day love and creative colorful hugs to you

    On Feb 13, 2017 8:53 PM, “Thefrugalcrafter’s Weblog” wrote:

    > thefrugalcrafter posted: “Hi friends! I am officially back and Mother > Nature has welcomed us with a couple of feet of snow. So. Much. Snow. Well, > it is pretty and luckily many business closed today so people could stay > safe at home, they even pulled plow trucks off the roads for a” >

    Like

  6. Tutorials on all of them would be good! Although I am a definite amateur watercolorist, I am always inspired by our stays in Hawaii. I am inspired by you as well!!

    Like

  7. I am abeginning stamper. I very much enjoy your blog. What are practices for cleaning stamps and stencils?

    Like

  8. I would love to see pictures and your drawings of your vacation.

    Like

  9. Would lovvve to see tutorials of you transforming your sketches into watercolour paintings. 🙂

    Like

  10. I noticed you store your paint brushes with the handles down, as do many artists I watch on You Tube. The artist I take lessons from said this will ruin your watercolor brushes. Just wondering what you think, or perhaps it is obvious since they appear to be stored that way
    In your videos 😊

    Like

    • It’s fine, I usually let them dry flay but return them to their cups bristle side up for storage. I think the worry of water collecting in the ferrule and making the brush head loose but that most often happenend from letting the brush sit in water. I have been watercoloring for over 30 years and it has never been a problem:)

      Like

  11. My mom bought one of those water flavors and none of us knew what to do with it. Now I wish we had poured it out and saved the bottle!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

