How I spent my winter vacation…

Hi friends! I am officially back and Mother Nature has welcomed us with a couple of feet of snow. So. Much. Snow. Well, it is pretty and luckily many business closed today so people could stay safe at home, they even pulled plow trucks off the roads for a few hours because it was too snowy to plow safely! When I joked from the Bahamas (on Instagram) that I hoped Maine would save me some snow when I got back I dd not expect 2+ feet of it! I hope everyone in the path of the blizzard is safe and sound, check on your neighbors and reach out for help if you need it.┬áThe kids and I did some shoveling this afternoon so hubby could get in the driveway after work and thank goodness for those kids, there is no way I could have done it alone. You don’t realize how out of shape you are until you have to shovel snow. I really think snowbirds have the right idea! As you might know our family took our first big “fly someplace far away” vacation last week. It was the perfect time to get away and we went to the Bahamas.

img_20170210_095759

It was a wonderful trip! Lots of relaxing and plenty to do. I took the opportunity to paint some scenes while I was there and I will share the watercolor sketches in today’s video.

I posted some of my sketches and travel pics on my Instagram in you want to check it out. I like to post behind the scenes stuff and work in progress on Instagram so if you like that sort of thing you can follow me there:) I often post stuff I am thinking about doing tutorials on to get feedback too so feel free to let me know if you want a tutorial of any of the sketches from my vacation. In addition to helping me remember the details of places I have been I also find painting on location helpful with my travel anxiety, having that one familiar thing to spend my nervous energy on helps me relax. Don’t worry about being perfect or precise when sketching on location, nobody is going to judge you and people who come up to you are generally curious and friendly. I got some questions about what I brought to create with and what you can bring on planes and I did this quick video for HGMM before I left explaining this travel set up. Unfortunately I lost my sharpie as soon as I got there (I let me kinds use it to label water bottles LOL!) and it would have been really useful to have, at least it wasn’t an expensive pen!

Even though we had a wonderful time and we just got a pile of snow I am still glad to be back home. I mentioned in the video that we used a travel agent and I would share her info if anyone wanted to know, she is a local friend of mine, her name is Amy and her business is First Class Travel. She didn’t ask me to mention her but she was wonderful and made me way less of a stress ball:) ┬áPlease let me know if you would like tutorials on any of the vacation sketches and til next time happy crafting!

