Cat Watercolor Time Lapse Painting

Hi friends! The other day I painted this kitten:

16299797_10208333262634614_8010643608692732955_o

I was playing with a sample of watercolor paper and I turned on my camera. I thought the painting was cute but there were some really ugly stages of the painting. The eyes kept frustrating me and I thought it might be a nice way to show you the bad stages of a painting and why you should push through even when you think all hope is lost. Here is a Artist speedpaint pep-talk. I hope you enjoy!

Don’t worry, I am not switching to speedpaints:) I just felt that it was appropriate for this artist pep talk video:) I was playing with watercolors and paper samples that I was not used to using so it was never going to be a full length tutorial. I recorded as I played and thought it would be a good way to illustrate what can go wrong when you paint and how you can persevere and fix it.

If you want a real time cat painting tutorial click here. Thanks for watching and til next time happy crafting!

8 Responses

  1. Thank you for the encouragement – you are always soo positive. Your cat was a great mini tutorial and I liked the part about “not going far enough – quitting too soon!”

    Like

  2. I LOVE when you share your thoughts on how you evaluate your work and how you adjust things. I learn so much from following your process. The working words here are: THIMK, TINCK, and THINK again!!
    (also, it doesn’t hurt to have a little humor about oneself too.)

    Like

  3. Wow! Thanks for that, I totally would have given up too early and I never would have combined so many mediums–scary!! Thanks for the pep talk and inspiration to just keep going!

    Like

  4. Gorgeous
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. I loved your painting of the cat’s head.I could not find the drawing on your blog.Please RSVP.

    Like

  6. I loved your cat head painting tutorial.How can I find your patterns? I went to blog as directed but couldn’t find them.

    Like

  7. First, I have to say that I love your videos!
    I’ve been sick for an extended period of time, and your videos have helped preserve my sanity…I hope. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I have a question…hoping you can make a suggestion. I have some of the “Schmenke bronze metallic gold” to be used with watercolor. It’s absolutely beautiful! But, I’ve run I to a problem… it rubs off once dry. Gets all over everything.

    Could I add a little gum arabic to help that? (I really know very little about all of this.) Or anything else? I appreciate your time and attention.

    Sincerely,
    Jacqui

    Like

  8. I really enjoyed your cat painting. The thoughts and ideas you shared were wonderful. I like the fact that you all go through what you think are the “hot mess” stages as well. It was also enlightening to see how many times you had to work on the eyes – just because something looks great, doesn’t mean it was easy! Nice lesson to learn.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

