New Marker Review! {Cheaper Alterntaives?}

Hi friends! I recently received some markers for review from Mozart Supplies. They have dual tip brush markers and also a real brush style of marker. What sparked my interest about this company is that they will be offering an ink refill pack for the brush pens (my main criticism of the Zig Real Brush pens is that they are not refillable) Here are some sketches I did with these pens:

16178372_10208307699755558_6919828939179980808_o

The swatch and color above were done with with the brush tip pens, the color blended out well with water even after the the ink was fully dry. The sketch below was also done with the same pens but I did use some opaque acrylic pens and a white gel pens for highlights.

16300430_10208314968937283_4675321838790176185_o

The dual brush pens are very similar to other dual brush pens on the market. The ink appears to be identical to the ink in the brush tip pens. Below is a sketch I did with the dual brush pens. I used a washi tape eyeball sticker (Jane Davenport) and some opaque markers to highlight this sketch:

16300192_10208304404033167_6419235007556858246_o

In the video you can see these pens in action!

The brush tip pens are very similar to the Zig clean color real brush pens. The brush tips on the Mozart pens are a bit longer and they come to a fine point. Refills for the Mozart pens are coming soon (according to their website) where as the Zig pens do not have refills. As far as the ink it is very similar, I can use both brands of pens together and they blend with other just fine. I own the 24 set of Zig and the 20 set of Mozart and there was not a lot of color overlap between those sets but they are very similar so if you have Zigs already you probably don’t need these as they preform identically. The Mozart pens are a bit longer and their caps need to be pushed on firmly. I recommend keeping the storage try they come in because they only fit in the storage tray if the cap is secure. I love that they cost less than Zigs (retail anyway) and they preform just as well and I can soon get refills. Currently they cost $26 for a set of 20.

Dual brush pens:
These appear to use the same ink as t These pens feature a firm (felt like) brush nib similar to Tombow, Memento, Stampin Up, Distress etc and a fine writing tip. The fine tip reminds me of the old Whispers/Sugarloaf dual tip pens. The nib size is similar to stampin up, distress or memento (vs the thicker bullet nib of Tombow.) The fine tips work well now but I have not had these markers long enough to determine weather or not they will hold up. On the Whispers markers I had the fine tip dried out easily but it is too soon to say here. The blend out like Tombow, Distress or Spectrum Aqua so if you like water-coloring effect you will enjoy these. They are also suitable to marker stamping where you color a rubber stamp with markers (instead of ink) and stamp. I like these as well as any of my other dual tip watercolor markers and they cost less than most at $18/set of 12

Bottom line, if you don’t already have similar markers from other brands Mozart markers¬†are just as good. I love that they are making a refill ink pack available. Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post but I did receive these markers for free for review purposes. Til next time happy crafting!

