Vintage Postcard Painting Tutorial & LUKAS 1862 Watercolor Review

Hi friends! Today’s video is a bit on the long side (shocker, I know) but I wanted to do both a review of my new set of 48 halfpan Lukas 1862 watercolors and do a tutorial of a pretty vintage postcard of a butterfly and pansies.

lukas1

Here is the reference image:

bb53-09

Watch the video and paint along! The review is first so if you want to skip ahead 12 minutes to the tutorial you can:)

Supplies:

  • Watercolors (I used LUKAS 1862, you can use whatever you have, even thinned down acrylic!)
  • 14-# watercolor Paper 6″x9″ (Aquabee)
  • Brushes #2 #8 round (Mimik Squirrel)

Lukas 1862 Watercolor 48 half pan review:

Pros:

  • Artist quality paint with tried and true pigments
  • 35 out of 48 colors are single pigment colors
  • Price (half or less than other artist quality brands) The paints are available in sets as well as single half pans, with pans and 24ml tubes ranging from $2.50-$7.69 each currently on sale a Jerry’s Artarama. (I have not used the tubes)
  • Highly pigmented-strong colors
  • Unique characteristics between colors (some are smooth, some granulate, some transparent some semi opaque)
  • Glazes well
  • The palette that comes with the paint is an enameled metal (steel? it is magnetic) and the pan holder tray lifts out for easy cleaning and so you can have additional mixing area.

Cons:

  • I feel that the paint could use a bit of honey or more gum arabic to improve luminescence and transparency but that can be added and it is a nit-picky thing.
  • The palette stained with the pthalocyanne colors but it was minor and it probably will come off with a magic eraser (but I don’t have one right now)
  • When I bought my set the list of colors on the website was not accurate. Below is a picture I took of my swatch, hope you can read my handwriting.

lukas_48_halfpan_color_chart

Bottom line, if you are looking for an affordable artist grade watercolor set give them a try. A 12 half pan sets starts at $30 or grab a few tubes or pans and see what you think. I hope you enjoyed this review and tutorial! Happy crafting!

17 Responses

  1. Love the tutorial and the review. Bummed- I was waiting for the announcement for a “Lukas paint giveaway”…..tee, hee..

    Like

  2. Loved it. I had just gotten the 24 pan set from jerry’s, price was so good! Can’t wait to try this tutorial. Thanks Lindsay, you are a treasure.

    Like

  3. P.s. not on instagram, think the eye eye-idea would be great!!!!

    Like

  4. I love this painting! The colors you chose are so pretty.

    I like the way you do your reviews. I would have been glad to be able to watch them when I started painting and drawing. I just bought what I could get relying on well-known brands. When it turned out I couldn’t cope with it I was sure it was because I was a Beginnner and just didn’t know how to handle it. I could have saved a lot of money if I would have known what to look out for!

    I heard somebody mentioning celluose paper being „okay“ for student grade paints but not for artist grade paints and wonder if in fact student grade paints, „student grade“ paper and brushes sort of have to match. Like I’d use a French watercolor squirrel mop for W&N artist grade paints on Arches paper but as Cotman paints don’t flow that much I’d be better off with another brush. I use Cotman a lot for pen and wash sketches in sketchbooks with a waterbrush though.

    I’d like to know what you think.

    Like

    • There are no rules. There is a big difference between brands of paper both student and artist grade and a lot in between. Generally Artist grade is 100% cotton and student grade is cellulose but you can use any paint with any paper. Cellulose paper is often less absorbent and sized more so the paint sits on top and can make student paint flow better and seem more vibrant but not always. Eastern watercolors contain a bit of resin since the paper they work on is usally unsized so it keeps the color from feathering too badly. If you have Cotman try a synthetic brush as it will do better at grabbing the color from the pans but Arches paper is well sized and should be lovely for you:)

      Like

  5. Love this video!

    Like

  6. Great video! The painting is beautiful!

    Like

  7. On Tue, Jan 10, 2017 at 7:34 PM Thefrugalcrafter’s Weblog wrote:

    > > > Do you have any suggestions for artist quality oil paints? > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > thefrugalcrafter posted: “Hi friends! Today’s video is a bit on the long > side (shocker, I know) but I wanted to do both a review of my new set of 48 > halfpan Lukas 1862 watercolors and do a tutorial of a pretty vintage > postcard of a butterfly and pansies. > > > > > > > > Here is the referen” > > > > > > > > > >

    Like

    • Honestly I can’t really tell the difference from the name brands, they are all pretty good. Lukas 1862 oils dry to the touch in 2 days. Winton by winsor & newton is student grade but really nice!

      Like

  8. Richard Hyman

    Love your videos. I was given a set of 48 watercolor pencils for Christmas (Hero) and would like to buy or make a color chart The pencils are all numbered but there was no chart of color names in the set. I have sent messages to the company (Mobile Union) but have not had a response. Could you email me Or post any thoughts you might have about this?

    Like

  9. I was disappointed that you didn’t compare these watercolor paints to you Turner paints that you had been using on your projects before this, and that I purchased so I could follow along with you. Please give me your opinion on how they compare to these paints. They say they’re in the same class.

    Like

    • Oh, shoot, I didn’t show the swatches side by side? If not I apologize, I would say they are the same quality, the turner might be a smidgen better, the turners are more transparent and luminous I believe where the lukas pigments are heavier. I hope that helps. If you already have the turners you could try a tube or pan in a color or two that you do not have to expand but not duplicate your collection. Have a great weekend!

      Like

    • Yes, they are bot great paints, I think I like the turners a bit more as they are transparent, I am sorry I skipped over that, my binder was a mess but I just sorted my swatches and put artists togetner and student lines together so hopefully I do not make that oversight again. The lukas colors appear to be more strongly pigmented but I think that is because they are a wee bit more opaque, both are good and you can follow along with whatever you prefer:)

      Like

  10. One thing you did not comment on that I’m curious about is how lightfastness compared to other lines? I know it can be a color by color thing, but in general some lines pride themselves on lightfastness and others you can hardly find any info. Just curious!

    Loved the video, both review and painting!

    Like

    • they appear to be the same as other artists brand as long as their ratings are to be belived but given the pigment info and the fact that they use the coustomary pigments we are used to seeing I think they will hold up well.

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

