LIVE painting class at 12:30pm ET Today! Free Birds Nest in Watercolor Tutorial!

Hi friends! I have missed the friday livestreams so much these past 2 weeks! I am so glad that I am caught up and can paint with you live at 12:30pm Eastern Time today! This is what we will be painting:

lindsay_weirich_nest_painting

Here is the reference photo:

nest_for_painting_graphicstock

I love the warm tones and rich textures in this photo:) I recommend you sketch or trace this ahead of time so you are ready at 12:30 when it is time to paint! As always you can watch the live broadcast or replay in the player below but if you want to chat or ask questions during the broadcast be sure to watch on the YouTube watch page.

You can find all the supplies you need (and then some LOL!) from our sponsor Jerry’s Artarama!

I put everything I use for the friday tutorials in a handy teacher’s list here. If you are a teacher it is a great way to organise a class list for students and it is totally free to use.

As always you can use whatever watercolors and brushes you prefer:) You will want a few rounds (size 3-10) and a larger round or flat wash. For colors I will probably use Sap green, Yellow ochre, Burnt umber, Pyrrol red and turquoise. I know that seems like a lot of colors for a fairly neutral image BUT I like to push the saturation of colors sometimes and avoid mud.

I also wanted to let you know that today (11/18/16) is the last day you can get Angela Fehr’s Creative watercolor course (I am a guest instructor) for 50% off using my special discount link! Don’t miss out on the change to enroll at a discount, the 50% off savings ends today!

creative-watercolour-square-ad-400-x-400

I am so excited to paint with you at 12:30pm ET today on YouTube! Til then, happy crafting!

7 Responses

  1. Hi Lindsay,
    Looking forward to your live stream today
    I looked over Angela Fehr’s class info and it lolks like it would be fun, so I signed up!
    Thanks for your affiliate code!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a WONDERFUL painting!
    I especially like the berries you added, it makes the nest look less symmetrical and picks up the red in the background.
    I’m glad I watched this!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, fooowee! I missed the stream even though I have an alarm set. It’s set too far ahead I need to change it. Anyway, I really wanted to tell you that at first I thought you didn’t stream at all cuz I never got a notify from YouTube. That’s ultimately what I go by cuz I get it no matter what device I’m on, but today No Notice? Did YouTube update or something? I just wanted to let you know cuz if I didn’t get one you can bet other people didn’t too😦
    But I will got watch the recording anyway so I’m happy for that, the stream looks exciting too. I love bird nests. Oh, and I got my tree from Creativity Happens!! LIndsay it’s beautiful!! Thanks again for doing the giveaways. They are so much fun and now I know Barbara Rossi who I didn’t know before and I’m truly grateful for that as well.
    Big Hugs!!
    Reeah.

    Like

    • thanks! I am so glad it came. Youtube has been glitching lately on several things, Other people have said that YT is not notifying people of uploads. Did you check the notification bell on my channel?

      Like

  4. Beautiful!

    Like

  5. What a fabulous tutorial! And free of charge too!! I have enjoyed and been inspired by dozens of your teachings and would like to thank you for the cheerful, encouraging approach you have to teaching. Please don’t stop.
    I guess the eggs in nest painting was about 8″ square. Is that correct? It helps me with composition to know what size you are using.

    Like

    • My paper I painted on was 11 1/2″x12″ but you can paint it whatever size you like, the nest as you assumed was about 8″x8″. Thank you for the lovely comment:)

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

