Chinese Lanterns in Acrylics!

Hi friends! Sometimes when paint the final outcome is not what we expected. That was the case with today’s painting:


I had intended to do something completely different as you will see in today’s video.

Sponsored by Smart Art Box, subscribe today or check out past kits. All of the supplies except for the white paint and a couple of brushes came in the September kit. I love how you can use supplies from past kits to make each box more versatile!

8″x10″ birch cradled panel
Acrylic paint in red, yellow, blue and white
Brushes: #12 fat, #6 round, spotter & #10 round hog brush

Here is a reference photo of chinese lanterns. I really love the fall colors of this painting and I placed it on my mantle with some gourds for decoration. Be sure to visit out sponsor Smart Art if you would like a surprise box of art supplies sent to you each month. It is a lot of fun even if it doesn’t turn out the way you expect. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!


6 Responses

  1. oops! comes to mind but your painting says “if at first you don’t succeed ……” Like the finished painting. TFS everything! 😉


  2. I am so glad you showed what to do when it did not work out for you because if that had been me i would have gotten really mad and thrown it away. So thanks for showing us what a beautiful piece could have come out of a mistake. As always you are such an awesome person. I love everything you do.


  3. You are just so talented. I love the way you painted the background. The lanterns are so beautiful. I haven’t seen any live since I lived in Vermont over 50 years ago. Your painting brought me back to my childhood …Thank you!!!


  4. From Street Art to Chinese Lanterns. Fantastic. Interesting to see the paint daubers pros and cons too. So pleased you instruct as you paint. The painting is so pretty.


  5. Stunning, stunning, stunning.


  6. Hello Frugal Crafter!
    I enjoy your blog so much that I have nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award! There are a couple of things you have to do if you would like to accept the award, and you can find out about those here:

    You are under no obligation to accept the award if you don’t have time to do so, or even if perhaps you’ve got a bundle of awards and don’t have room on the shelf for another!
    But I just wanted let you know.
    Have a blessed rest of your day ~ Cobs.


Tell me what YOU think!

