Let’s Paint Rocks in Watercolor LIVE 12:30pm ET Today!

Hi friends! I am so happy to be painting with you live today! I had a great vacation last week and today we are going to paint one of the Plein Air paintings I did while on vacation by YOUR request! We are going to paint rocks because many of you told me that rocks were a challenge for you so you will have me at your disposal to ask questions along the way if you get stuck. We will be live at 12:30pm Eastern Time today, I hope you can join us!


You can watch the live class, or the replay in the video player below but if you want to chat with us be sure to watch it on the YouTube watch page.

Sponsored by Jerry’s Artarama:

  • Cotman Watercolors *You can use any watercolors you have though:)
  • Fabriano Studio Watercolor Paper (the best “cheap” paper I have found *the 11″x14″ 50 or 100 sheet pads are a great buy and is what I made mt landscape watercolor block from, I cut each sheet into 3rds 4 1/2″ish x11″ pieces)
  • Brushes-Mimik 1/2″ filbert (under $5) OR try the Princeton Neptune 1/2″ oval wash (about $10) *you can also use a nice thirsty round brush:)
  • Waterbrush (I like this Koi one and it is under $5)
  • Black waterproof pen (sharpie, micron, pitt pen-your choise!)

Want more inspiring tutorials, try my Mixed it Up Mixed Media Step by Step Class for 50% off at Craftsy!


I hope to paint with you live today on YouTube! Til then Happy crafting!

8 Responses

  1. Thank you great demo PS when you did the sketch with the pen ( in stead of pencil ) it is so much more easy to see 😎 , some demos where they use pencil , doesn’t show up on camera and they might as well no even do it . Anyway , that’s what I think Every one enjoys your work And I buy products from your sponsors 🍎

    Be well … Eddie



  2. I like that painting! I gave up trying to get rocks to look like rocks but now I might give it another try. I wonder if using granulating pigments is the trick …..

    Somebody asked about Kuretake Gansai Tambis …. I saw some people using this on videos:
    and I think it looks very handy. I wish W&N would sell something like that for the tiny Cotman set!


  3. I couldn’t join you live, but am so excited that you painted rocks. I will give it w try this weekend. Thanks so much.


    Sent from my iPad



  4. love this one ….. been looking for rocks in rubber stamps….MaryR


  5. Hi Lindsay! I was so excited to watch you live on YouTube (at least part of it). Your tutorials, reviews and cheerfulness have been great inspiration.
    Currently I have succumbed to the coloring book craze and I have a question that I think you can help me with: how can I achieve the underwater look with coloring pencils (prismacolor, which I blend with turpentine or a colorless blender)? The underwater look I’m searching for is a koi pond. I want to make the fish and rocks look like they are beneath and I have no idea how to go about it. Please help.
    Many thanks,
    (Honduran fan)


    • I think I would color the image heavily with pencil and then when you blend it with thinner to use long swirling strokes to smudge the colors to look like ripplies in the water.


  6. Hi Lindsay! I have been a fan for some time, I enjoy your reviews and tutorials and find the very helpful.
    I was excited to watch you live for part of this tutorial ✨☺️✨
    Lately I have given in into the adult coloring book craze and I need your expert advice: how can I color a koi pond scene seen from above and make the fish and pebbles look like they are underwater? (I have staedtler watercolor pencils, prismacolors, gel pens, turpentine to blend as well as a colorless blender).
    Many thanks!
    (Fan from Honduras 🇭🇳)


Tell me what YOU think!

