Smallest Watercolor Palette Ever (You Can Wear!)

Hi friends! I am so excited about this project because I have made my most compact travel palette ever. And you can wear it, and it’s cute (take that adorable sundresses with no pockets that I love to wear!)


I actually wore the bracelet on one arm and used a cut off sock (aka fancy brush cleaning cloth) to hold my watercolor paper block and brushes to my other arm when I went bike riding today! It was a sight to behold LOL!


In the above photo you can see the sock, just slide your hand between the sock and the block and you are off to the races! Watch the video to see how I made it! Oh, and if you don’t paint you can still make the cute bracelet and put some other treasure inside!



  • Kraft paper jewelry box 1 1/8″ x 1 3/4″
  • 3/4″ Sewing elastic
  • Large drinking straw or tubing (I am using the sleeves that come on the ends of paintbrushes to protect them in shipping, get creative!)
  • Watercolor tube paint
  • Hot glue
  • Colored Pencils
  • Stamp and embellishment (Prima Marketing)
  • Brown waterproof ink (Ranger Archival)

For the block: Find my full DIY watercolor block tutorial here. (Supplies: watercolor paper, cardboard, scrapbook paper or decorative paper for cover-can use junk mail cardstock for this too!)


I always get a better feel for what will work in a particular travel painting set-up after I use it a bit. I took a piece of plastic (from an embossing folder package) and covered the back with white contact paper to make a white mixing area so I could have a bit of extra mixing space. You can see the mixing card in the photo above overlapping the watercolor block cover. I cut it to fit in the pocket the folded cover paper made. I also took an old gift card and cut it at an angle so I would have a credit card scraper, that can also be used to remove the finished painting from the top of the block and to reveal a fresh sheet below. I left most of the “credit card” intact so it would not get lost in the pocket. You can see, on my mixing chart, that I can get a lovely array of color with these 5 paints although I might try to sneak a burnt sienna in there too:) Luckily I have a bunch of these wee boxes to experiment with! I first thought I could use my watercolor half pans to make my palette but this box only would fit 2, goes to show you how tiny it is. I can do about 4 small paintings with the water in my 2 mini koi waterbrushes and I think I will add a waterproof black pen in there too.

I think this will be my go-to kayak paint set-up because it is really hard to fish around in back pockets to find paper and pens while trying to keep the kayak steady, wearing them is ideal! Let me know in the comments below if you plan on trying this or if you think I have finally lost my mind.🙂 Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

Sponsored by Papermart.


12 Responses

  1. Doesn’t the lid fall off when you move around?
    But I like the idea of being able to paint without needing to put the paintbox down somewhere … I might try to tape the “mixing tray” onto the inside of the block cover.
    When you remove paper to paint the next painting, where do you store it?


  2. Lindsay, Lindsay, Lindsay. What can I say. I just love your enthusiasm and ingenuity. You are keeping me afloat these days while all the things I love about are on the down-low for me right now.

    thanks so much, pat v


    • A wise woman once said “This didn’t come to stay, it came to pass” I hope things turn up for you soon. Hugs:)


  3. You have brightened my otherwise difficult day! Thank you Lindsay…I appreciate your talent and videos! Great idea by the way…you are so clever!
    Paper Hugs,


  4. Just love your videos some make me giggle others make me want to paint


  5. Wow …what an incredible idea. LOVE it. ~ Cobs.


  6. Brilliant… This is one reason why I love watching you.Thanks for this superb idea.


  7. Very cool, Lindsay. You are so clever!


  8. I am certainly going to try making a version of this, such a great idea, thanks for sharing


  9. Fabulous idea. Beautifully made. I love it.
    ~ Cobs. x


Tell me what YOU think!

