Stamp School: Color Blocking with Colored Pencils!

Hi friends! I want to assure everyone that I have not changed my blog over to a painting only one. In fact today I have a new episode of Stamp School!


This card uses limited supplies but is so fun to make! No kraft cardstock? No problem, you can use a brown paper grocery bag! Watch the video for a full tutorial!


Sponsored by Art Neko *Save 10% off your next order of any size or get free shipping on orders over $50 (whichever discount is greater you get!) just by mentioning thefrugalcrafter!


  • Nautical stamps from Art Neko, most of the stamps came from this set except for the sand dollar, it is from the mermaid set.
  • Colored pencils (derwent coloursoft) c570, c530, c330, c720, c640, c340, c080, c300, c590, c130, c550, c050
  • Kraft cardstock (or a brown bag) and blue pearl card (The Paper Cut) for a base

You can use any combination of rectangles to make a color blocked card, you could even cut them out and mat them with contrasting color cardstock. Take the idea and run with it! Size of the boxes on the card: 3 squares were 2″x 2″ and the rectangle on the bottom was 2″x7″ with a 1/4″ border all round:) I hope you enjoyed this weeks stamp school and til next time happy crafting!

7 Responses

  1. It looks amazing! I usually blend my colored pencils with a solvent…would that still work with all the layers you put down or would you recommend less layering if using a solvent…maybe kraft isn’t something you’d want to use solvent on??? Thanks Lindsay!


  2. Yeah, u didn’t chg to all painting ….thank you thank you thank you!!!

    Sent from my iPad



  3. Loved this tutorial Lindsay! Question? Do you like Derwent Colorsoft pencils better than Prismacolor? Also, what are your thoughts on Faber Castell Polychromos pencils? I value your opinion as I need to purchase more, thanks 😊


  4. Thanks, Lindsey! I always learn so much from you! I purchased some of these stamps the last time I saw you you them. I’ve really enjoyed making cards with them especially the koi fish one I saw you use.🙂


  5. As always, great work and good tips….thank you.


  6. Hi Lindsay. Thanks for inspiring blog (and your Craftsy class, which is one of my very favourites). I’m new to stamping and am a bit unclear about the varieties of ink and ink pads and using them (i.e., what is distress ink?) Have you done specific stamp school videos about this? If not, this is something I would be interested in. All the best and thanks again.


Tell me what YOU think!

