Paint Colorful Festive Lanterns LIVE at 12:30pm ET!

Hi friends! Yes, we have another live painting class today at 12:30pm Eastern Time and we are going to paint some colorful lanterns. You can catch the live show or the replay here but if you want to chat with us make sure you watch on the YouTube watch page and join in the fun with fellow painters! All are welcome!

lanternfinal Here is a pattern you can print and trace, or you can sketch from it.


I used two different reference photos from Paint My Photo, this one from Caroline Hughes King and this one from Mido Modi. Below is a color swatch and mixes. I am using Turner watercolors but you can use whatever brand you have. The colors I am using are: Quinacridone Rose, Permanent Yellow, Turquoise, Pthalo Green and Burnt Umber.


You can watch the live show or replay in the player below but remember, if you want to chat live be sure to watch on YouTube.

You can find all of the supplies I am using today at Jerry’s Artarama

Turner Watercolors *Jerrys is having a super sale on these right now (up to 75% off list with some 15ml tubes as low as $3.25!

140# watercolor paper

Brushes Just an assortment of your typical watercolor brushes:)

I hope to see you at 12:30pm Eastern Time for a fun painting class! Oh and one more thing, I have had a lot of people requesting acrylic painting tutorials and a have put together a playlist of all of the free acrylic paint projects I have done here, but if you want more instruction than I can provide (Acrylic is not my best medium) Consider these wonderful Craftsy classes that are 50% off today!

If you like Huge, bright, beautiful flowers check out Luminous Flower in Acrylic:


And since I have been asked a lot about painting animals I thought you might like this one: The Art of Painting Horses.


There are many other types of classes at Craftsy from photography, stamping, papercraft, quilting, sewing, cooking and cake decorating and any class you purchase via my link helps me bring new free tutorials to you on my blog and I thank you for your support! I also have a class at Craftsy called Mix it Up Mixed Media Step by Step and that is 50% off as well and we work with watercolors, watercolor crayons, collage and more, it was so much fun to create and I hope you enjoy it:)


Thanks again for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

3 Responses

  1. I just signed up for your mixed media class, Lindsay, and I can’t wait to get started. You are so much fun to hang out with and I love learning from you. hugs, Teresa


  2. Hi Lindsay, if you like can you do a tutorial on passion flower – passiflora


Tell me what YOU think!

