LIVE at 12:30pm Eastern Time Today: Pastel Painting FREE Class!

Hi friends! I am sliding into Friday feet first! This first full week of summer vacation has been a lot of fun but has turned me into a last-minute-Sally here in the studio! I will have a live painting class at 12:30pmET though, sorry for the short notice but I am keeping the live shows at the same time each week so I hope that helps you plan a bit. I am going to show you how to paint over an unsuccessful watercolor with pastels. I hope you enjoy it!



I had a bunch of extra backgrounds kicking around from when I went to Denver to film my class for Craftsy (BTW all of my blog readers get 50% off my class through this link) and they have been sitting in a bag so I decided to paint over one today! Also I will use up some black and white tube watercolor that has been collecting dust since it came in a  kit and I don’t typically paint with those colors in watercolor. If you don’t have black and white watercolor or gouache, just use an acrylic that is not glossy. As always if you want to join in the chat you will need to watch on the YouTube Watch page and be signed in if you want to ask questions or chat with crafty friends. Otherwise you can watch in the player below.

Supplies available at our sponsor Jerry’s Artarama

For a surface use an old painting on watercolor paper you don’t care for, we will paint over it! Also watercolor or pastel paper is fine, the quality of the paper does not matter for the results, you could even paint on a cardboard box!

Turner watercolors (white and black, I just used the ones that came in the value set since I typically do not paint with these colors)

Pastels (a variety of brands and softness, use your favorites!)

Tools: Brayer, 1″ flat brush, spray bottle, finger or blending sponges

Reference photo by Viacheslav at Paint my Photo


I hope to see you at 12:30pm ET today for this fun and free live painting class! If you are interested in my Craftsy class that focuses on mixed media watercolor and pastels you can save 50% or find out more here. You can also see what other classes are on sale at Craftsy here, we all love a good deal right? Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

3 Responses

  1. […] LIVE at 12:30pm Eastern Time Today: Pastel Painting FREE Class! – 1 freebie(s)? […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Lindsay😀 I just wanted to let you, and hopefully the Frugal Crafter community, know that I just bought the Turner watercolors, you always use for your live Friday painting tutorials, for $19.99 on SALE!! They’re normally $29.99. This is the 18 count, 5ml artist grade set!! (I used the Jerry’s Artarama link in your YouTube video description.)

    I have no idea how long the sale will last, but Jerry’s has been running a huge sale all week. You guys should check it out!

    Hope this helps! Not sure exactly where to post so I really hope your readers see this

    Thanks for all you do for us!!


  3. Wow Lindsay I just love how the color glows in this one ! It´s gorgeous…love how the “light ” unfolds…..


Tell me what YOU think!

