Winsor & Newton Pigment Marker Review!

Hi friends ! Today I am going to review Winsor & Newton’s pigment markers. I have been very curios about these since they debuted last fall and finally bought a small set to try out.

IMG_20160613_115849

See them in action in this video review and demonstration:

I think the main reason to buy these markers would be if you are a marker artist who is really concerned about light fastness. The fact that you need special paper as well as the price is enough to put crafters off. The white blender is intriguing though and the fact that it can work with other alcohol markers that you already have is very intriguing and fun to play with. Just be sure you have a non porous paper to work with like Winsor newton’s marker paper, vellum or Yupo. If you have no interest in using those papers I’d skip these markers. What do you think? Splurge or pass? I hope this tutorial helped you be more informed on where to spend your hard earned dollars, thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

7 Responses

  1. Wow! Can’t afford the markers. Thank you for your review. On Tue, Jun 14, 2016 at 3:57 PM Thefrugalcrafters Weblog wrote:

    > thefrugalcrafter posted: “Hi friends ! Today I am going to review Winsor & > Newton’s pigment markers. I have been very curios about these since they > debuted last fall and finally bought a small set to try out. See them in > action in this video review and demonstration: ” >

    Like

  2. Thanks Lindsay – I honestly bought these and took them back. One of the markers was actually dry! I didn’t like them at all and am a happy Copic user.

    Like

  3. I was curious what their base was too for the sake of knowing what inks to use with them. I wonder with them being pigment, if you would have time to heat emboss after coloring? And would the marker paper hold up to that better than vellum? One last idea… wonder if they play better on bristol like the Zigs do. I don’t like the results I get with Zigs on watercolor paper but they blend easily on bristol cause they seem to stay on top better. Wonder if that would apply here too. Thanks for being the guinea pig on these for the rest of us!!! Love my Promarkers but think I can hold off on these unless I can emboss with them 🙂

    Like

  4. Interesting markers, but will stay with my Copics…thanks for the info Lindsay!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  5. Great video. I bought the white one the other day to play with. I wanted to see if I could use it with the Copics. I had only one green one. The Blick site said you shouldn’t use it with alcohol markers. It does work with Yupo paper but not impressed enough to buy them. Especially since you have to have special paper and you can’t refill them

    Like

    • there is no hazard using them with other alcohol markers, I ready the materials and safety sheet. I think as long as you use the white over the copics you are fine. The pigment particles in the pigment markers are larger than die particles so using the copics OVER the W&N pigments might clog a nib. That’s all, and I would use the white on top to beld my other colors out. I reckon they just don’t want to to only buy a white LOL!

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

