Watercolor Painting on Yupo!

Hi friends! Today I will share tips and tricks for using Watercolor paint on Yupo paper. Yupo is a synthetic (plastic) paper that accepts many types of art media. All of the supplies I am using came in the May Smart Art box.


Yupo paper is not for everyone. I used to use it quite a bit for watercolor before I started my YouTube career. What I loved most was working in huge sheets and filling it with big beautiful washes of color. It is a very freeing medium but not for someone who want a lot of control in their work. I think it is a nice change of pace. Keep in mind it is not going to behave like typical watercolor paper. Don’t be discouraged when using it, you can always rinse it off if you are not happy with it. For that reason in might ne nice for children who tend to create a lot of art! Are you ready to give Yupo a try? Watch the video for handy tips!

Supplies from the May Smart Art Box
  • Watercolors
  • Yupo paper
  • round and flat brush
  • pencil and eraser (not included in box)
  • water buckets (not included in box)
One thing I wanted to emphasis is that Yupo is an unusual paper, you will not get the look of a traditional watercolor with it so if this kit is your first introduction to watercolor I recommend you pick up a pad of good cotton watercolor paper to try. It is about as opposite as you can get!
If you would like to receive a surprise box of art supplies to your door every month please check out our sponsor Smart Art they ship to many countries and always contain full size supplies, not samples. You can also purchase past boxes from their website if you don’t want a surprise. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!


4 Responses

  1. I like the way the black turned out on this paper, kind of textured-like, not a smooth surface. But trying to make parts looks smooth but be frustrating.
    How long does watercolor need to dry on YUPO and do I have to cover the painting to prevent the dry paint from being scraped off if another sheet rubs against it?

    When you mentioned this paper would be good for children I suddenly had the idea I could use it for learning Japanese writing! I need SO much paper to practise over and over again and it’s nothing worth KEEPING unless you are GOOD at it, which might never happen … I usually use the back side of prints I don’t need anymore but YUPO should be even better because it won’t wrinkle.

    I could also use it to loosen up before I start a painting. I never thought about all these possibilities until now. Thanks for getting me started!


  2. Now I want some YUPO paper….. Love how the colors mix on it.


Tell me what YOU think!

