LIVE: Let’s Hear it for the “Bouys!”

lobstershackfinalHi friends! Today we are going to learn about dry-brushing and textures in the FREE live painting lesson happening at 12:30pm Eastern Time on YouTube. You can watch live or catch the replay in the player below but if you want to ask questions in chat be sure to view it on the YouTube watch page. I occasionally have some people tell me that they can’t comment in the chat live, usually it means that your browser is out of date. Chrome and internet explorer work well for me. I find I can watch and comment on my phone but I don’t see everyone elses comments. Also you need to be logged in to your YouTube account to comment (if you have left a comment on  a video in the past you have one, if not it is free and easy.) I sketched out a pattern for you to use if you like, simply print it out and trace it on your watercolor paper. there is a link to the reference photo below, I moved some buoys around and eliminated some detail.


You can watch like at 12:30pm ET in this video player!

Supplies available at our sponsor Jerry’s Artarama:
Turner Watercolors (or whatever brand you like)
Colors: Ultramarine, phthalo blue, Turquoise, Gamboge, Perm Yellow, Yellow ochre, Burnt sienna, pyrrole red

Ebony Splendor brushes (or a variety of your favorite synthetic watercolor/acrylic brushes)

Fabriano Artistico Watercolor Block 9″x12″ CP 140#

Note, you can get the brushes and watercolor block I used and LUKAS 1862 watercolors in this money-saving kit with collapsible water bucket and travel bag:  The set I showed is Item # 59146A but they have lots of value kits to pick from!

Reference photo by Linda Willason at Paint my Photo


This was the color study I did this morning to prepare for the full shack painting. I will try to keep the lesson to an hour but we might go long due to the complexity of this one. Don’t worry, the replay will be available in case you can’t do the painting all in one sitting, I totally get that! I hope to see you live at 12:30! Til then happy crafting!

3 Responses

  1. How funny, I downloaded the same reference photo two days ago and I’m waiting for my Doc Martin Hydrus Watercolors to arrive before I attempt to paint it. Great minds…..! Lol


  2. I LOVED the LIVE broadcast! Please don’t ever stop these Friday shows, I just love them Lindsay. Now that I can watch them live on my 42″ TV I’m stoked!! I will be able to paint along with you and actually keep up, well maybe, lol!!!
    Keep up the GREAT WORK!
    Big Hugs!!


  3. Hi Lindsay, I loved the lobster shack and all the bright colors you used. I’m getting ready to order that introductory Turner set this week. And I do love your live broadcasts, and the fact that we can ask you questions while you’re doing your painting. It amazes me that you can focus on your painting and answer us at the same time! I’m learning more every time I watch you. Thank you so much! Hugs from Sharon in Florida.


Tell me what YOU think!

