My “Cleanish” Palette!

Hi friends! I’ll never be known for my housekeeping ability but for an oil painting palette clean-ish is a good thing!


Watch the video to see what I mean!

Over time the grey patina that builds up on your palette will make color mixing easier. Remember you are creating an art studio, not an art supply museum, use those supplies and let everyone see the evidence of a life lived creatively!

If you are looking for an in-depth oil painting class may I suggest Paint and Pallet Essentials: A Beginner’s Guide to Oil Painting from fellow Craftsy teacher Jay Senetchko (it’s 50% off today!) or The Oil Painters Handbook  by Tony Curanaj to get you started in the fun and exciting medium! Remember, all crafty classes are in high-definition and you can access them forever so you can take your time, learn at your own pace and refer to them again and again! And if watermedia is your cup of tea be sure to check out my new Craftsy Class Mix it Up Mixed Media Step by Step at 50% off! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!





2 Responses

  1. I keep all of the paper towels that I’ve gotten solvent on in a metal paint can with the lid on tightly. It can be hazardous to just throw those in the trash even on trash day because that means a highly flammable material is now mixed with regular trash. I know I don’t want to be responsible for starting a dump fire. You can take your full paint can to the dump for safe disposal. It takes me a long time to fill a paint can with used paper towels. I also use the blue mechanic paper towels because they absorb more so I need fewer of them. I roll seems to last forever.


  2. I use the same method as you to clean my wooden palette, but I also use the blue mechanic paper towels. One tip an artist taught us in a workshop is to take all your old paint that you scrape off, mix it together, and use it as an under-painting for your next canvas. It will usually be a nice gray or taupe color. If you want something different, you can always add color to the excess paint It is a good way to use up left-over paint and save on paint you would normally use for under painting. I’ve found it to be a good tip.


Tell me what YOU think!

